Humans logo

Why I Can't Go Out Anymore, What Happened To Me the Last Time I Did - Tems

Tems talks dealing with new found fame

By Jide OkonjoPublished 2 years ago 3 min read

The days of Nigerian singer Tems being unknown are now very far from her. Now, Tems is without a doubt not only very popular but also very very famous. And the thing about becoming famous, especially at the magnitude in which she is now famous, it takes a lot of getting used to. You go from being able to do normal things like go the grocery store to now having to do a whole procedure and process before you can even leave your house. It's a lot and it is something that Tems is now adjusting to.

During an interview with Billboard, Tems opened up about how she's adjusting to fame, why she can't even just go to the grocery store anymore, and what happened to her the last time she was out. Here's what Tems said.

**Before reading on, please make sure to like and follow my Facebook page (Jide Okonjo) so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. I have a really fun page. If you like my page, you will have fun too. So what's stopping you? Like my page and let's have fun together!

When Billboard asked Tems: "I read that your name in Yoruba means, “Mines is the crown.” How did you learn to settle in with the pressure of living up to your name and do you remember that crowning moment of in your career?", Tems responded:

Not exactly. I just felt like I was born this way. I’m definitely settling more into just being known — but in terms of the meaning of my name and in terms of being a queen, being royalty, or my name being “The crown is mine,” I think that’s just always been in knowing [that]. It’s not something that I had to like [live up to] or settle into, it’s just something that I know, and it’s not even a thing of bragging or anything like that. Even if I don’t want to be that, it’s just a kind of thing where I found myself. I’m just me. I’m always going to be the best at what I do — at being me and doing the thing that I do. That’s it.

But I am settling into being known, and someone that has done something without knowing the full impact of what that is. I can’t go to the grocery store. I mean, I can, but I can’t just do that “trying to act like a normal person” [thing] anymore. I can’t just roll out of bed and say, “Oh yeah, I’m sure it’s going to be fine if I go to the mall and I just walk around. Nothing’s going to happen.” There’s always someone that recognizes me now, and that’s where I’m getting it. Apart from that, it’s always something I’ve known.

"Isn’t online shopping great? You can just stay inside and order whatever you want."

I still can go out, I just go out with the knowledge of who I am. I’m not naïve, or I’m not like, “Oh, you know, I’m not sure.” I’m very aware, like, “OK.” Even if something happens or someone sees me… like the other day, I went out to hang out with my friend’s daughter. She’s a baby and we went to this ice cream place. While I was feeding her, someone came to get a picture and they literally waited for me to drop her. They didn’t leave. They were like, “Well, I know you’re having family time, but please, let’s get a picture?” I was like, “Um, I mean…” I basically had to drop her to take a picture. That’s just how it is. It’s all about being aware and being OK with it, which is fine. I think it’s to be expected, to be honest.

Nawa! I can't even imagine. Also, if you're wondering 'who be Tems? Is she even popular like that?' Tems of today is o! Here is a video of Tems leaving her apartment earlier this month in Paris just in case you want to understand the extent of her fame now.

What do you think about this video, this story, and about what Tems said? Let me know your thoughts by leaving a comment either below or on my Jide Okonjo Facebook post.

That's All.

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to like my page (Jide Okonjo) if you don’t already for more stories like this, the fun never ends

To catch up on other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day.

celebrities

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Jide OkonjoWritten by Jide Okonjo

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.