Humans logo

Why I Apologized To Nigerians - Aisha Buhari

Aisha talks husband's administration and future

By Jide OkonjoPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

It is coming to the end of the current Buhari administration and now the current first lady of Nigeria, Aisha Buhari is speaking about some decisions she made. Aisha had in the past apologized for her husband's administration and been openly critical of it. Now, during a new interview, Aisha Buhari explains why she apologized to Nigerians over the perceived failure of Buhari's administration amidst other things. Here is exactly what Aisha Buhari said.

**Before reading on, please make sure to like and follow my Facebook page (Jide Okonjo) so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. I have a really fun page. If you like my page, you will have fun too. So what's stopping you? Like my page and let's have fun together!

Speaking in an interview with BBC, Aisha Buhari said:

The expectation on us was too high. People were expecting so much from us, and then maybe after seven years, we haven't done to their expectation. They have done their best but maybe it's still not the best to others. To them they've done their best so only God knows. So we must apologize to Nigerians. Whether we have met up with their expectation or not.

"In what areas do you think they could have done better in your own opinion?"

I don't know because my office, I run it like an NGO, I just receive people. I'm not into government activities. My own is to support them either on health or in education. I don't go into details of what they're doing.

"Do you see yourself going for any public office at all?"

I thank God for giving me the opportunity to be the first lady of Nigeria. And I think that position is such a priceless position, and I thank God, and I pray to God that will grant us good exiting. That we hand over to APC government again, and I don't have any political ambition. Because after this I'm going to be the former first lady of Nigeria, what else am I looking for?

"What if you rest for some time and then come back?"

I want to continue resting.

"Do you think there's a chance that APC may not come back as the ruling party in Nigeria?"

Why did you ask that question? Of course we will continue. Of course APC will win.

"Short word of advice for the next first ladies that are coming? What do you want them to know that probably nobody may tell them?"

Let her just be herself. She should not allow anybody that will come and mortgage their administration. So they have to listen to people that voted for them or people that vote for them. They must listen to people and then be herself. Under any circumstances, she must be herself.

"What do you want them to remember you the most for?"

Service to humanity.

Hmmm. I have so much to say but let me just keep my mouth shut for now and turn the floor over to you. What do you think of what Aisha Buhari had to say? Let me know your thoughts by leaving a comment either below or on my Jide Okonjo Facebook post.

That's All.

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to follow my page (Jide Okonjo) if you don’t already for more stories like this, the fun never ends

To catch up on other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day.

celebrities
Like

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.