Humans logo

Why Even Shooting With Dustbin in Nigeria is Challenge – Sabinus

Sabinus talks skitmaking and its challenges

By Jide OkonjoPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like

Nigerian skit maker, comedian, and media personality Sabinus also popularly known as Mr. Funny is by far one of the most popular names in the Nigerian skit making industry. Sabinus' skits have been watched millions of times, and as a person, Sabinus has been able to win so many awards and get so many deals just because of his skits.

During an interview with MTV Base, the skit maker took us deeper into how exactly he got into skitmaking, who he finds funny, where he draws inspiration, and challenges he faces doing the work. Here is what Sabinus had to say on all these topics.

**Before reading on, please make sure to like and follow my Facebook page (Jide Okonjo) so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. I have a really fun page. If you like my page, you will have fun too. So what's stopping you? Like my page and let's have fun together!

Sabinus on MTV Base

"How exactly did you get into comedy or skitmaking?"

SABINUS: I did not get into comedy though comedy is in me. It's natural so it just got to a point where I just felt like omo, make I hustle. Book no dey work. What I studied did not work for me, so let me try my second option which is making people laugh. So I had to bring up what's inside me and it's working today.

"Your career has just been ascending and ascending but for you, what do you think the turning point was in your career?"

SABINUS: For me I will say the turning point was more my awards. Winning so many awards in this field. Getting recognized is not easy, I must say that. It's not easy. It's very different when you are doing something, you're not recognized and you're just doing it and nothing. So being recognized is something that I will say I really appreciate.

"So as Mr. Funny, who makes you laugh? Who do you find funny?"

SABINUS: Uhmmm, Charles Inojie, Mr. Ibu, Osoufia, those guys are funny and natural.

"Where do you pull inspiration from?"

SABINUS: I will say inspiration is more from environment. Yes. Cuz I do more of my shooting in Port Harcourt. I hardly shoot in Lagos. Because the environment in Port Harcourt. Lagos is, how do I say it, Lagos is just everybody is going to work. Somebody is carrying his cement, this one is carrying his shovel, nobody has your time.

"What are the challenges of filming skits?"

SABINUS: Mehn, it's not easy. First of all, one of the challenge, every single skitmaker will say this is the truth. When you put up a camera trying to shoot, and some boys will come out, "Ah, you will pay for this, you will pay for that!" [Landlords] no be small. The one that shocked me one day, I was trying to use a dustbin to shoot, someone said they're in charge of the dustbin. Dustbin too? Ah ah!

What do you think about what Sabinus said, and also what do you think of Sabinus' videos, and of Sabinus as a skitmaker? Let me know your thoughts by leaving a comment either below or on my Jide Okonjo Facebook post.

That's All.

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to follow my page (Jide Okonjo) if you don’t already for more stories like this, the fun never ends

To catch up on other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day.

celebrities
Like

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.