Humans logo

"Why Did You Take Over 45 Years to Marry?" - Rita Dominic Finally Responds

Rita opens up

By Jide OkonjoPublished 4 months ago 3 min read

Popular Nollywood actress Rita Dominic got married two years ago after over 45 years of being single. Her marriage was met with a lot of fan-fair and excitement, and now, during a new interview with Joy FM, Rita Dominic is opening up about why it took this long for her to marry. Here's what she said.

**Before reading on, please make sure to sign up for my newsletter below so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. At the end of each week, I'll compile all the best stories from the week and send them right to your inbox. Sign up now so you always get alerted!

During the interview, Rita was asked "How's marriage so far?" to which she replied:

RITA DOMINIC: It's nice. It's interesting. I'm blushing. It's nice. It's been two years in April for the traditional marriage. We were friends for a long time, then we found love, then we dated, and we got married.

"Why did you wait so long?"

RITA DOMINIC: Why did I wait so long? I wanted to do it and be sure that I was doing it for the right reasons and not for the reasons y'know that stem from societal pressure.

"Okay, was society giving pressure about the timing of it?"

RITA DOMINIC: Of course! Even before I got married, the pressure was there for years. But uhm, I just turned a deaf ear.

"Cuz this was way after 45 and I'm sure people were like Rita what's going on?"

RITA DOMINIC: Yeah, they were doing that but at the end of the day, I will marry the man of my dreams and not the man society dreams for me because if anything goes wrong tomorrow, I will be the one left to pack up the pieces, and not the society. So I will do it when I want to do it at the right time, and I believe I did it at the right time with the right person.

"Why did you think it took that long? Was it because there were not too many good men or right people around you?"

RITA DOMINIC: I met quite a number of people but maybe we just didn't happen, or we just didn't work out and I don't believe in forcing things. If it's not working, if you guys are not compatible, there's no point in forcing things. And then you go into it, and then tomorrow you're out of it. For what reason?

"Was the fact that you're such a huge public figure also make it more difficult to get married?"

RITA DOMINIC: I don't think so. I think that's even when you have a lot of people wanting to marry you.

"If you had to give anybody marriage advice after 2 years, what would you tell them?"

RITA DOMINIC: Marry your friend and make sure your goals and dreams are aligned.

What do you think about what Rita Dominic said? Let me know your thoughts by leaving a comment either below or on my Jide Okonjo Facebook post.

That's All.

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to subscribe to my newsletter if you don’t already for more stories like this - collated every week and sent right to your inbox so you don't miss out on anything.

Btw, in addition to blogging, I also make money through Whatsapp Status Sessions. If you also want to earn money through status sessions, I've created a complete guide to help you get started so we can all eat! Download it here.

To catch up on other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day

celebrities

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

Add your insights

Comments (2)

  • Alex H Mittelman 4 months ago

    Very informative! Great interview ↕️

  • Great interview story

Jide OkonjoWritten by Jide Okonjo

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.