Humans logo

Why Celebrity Marriages Are Crashing Left and Right - Venita Akpofure

Venita talks from her own experience

By Jide OkonjoPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

Celebrity marriages seem to be crashing left and right. In recent time alone, actress Funke Akindele and her now ex-husband JJC Skillz broke up; so did Paul Okoye and his wife Anita. It has been this way for a number of years now, so much so that it seems to have become more rare for celebrity marriages to stay together than for them to break apart.

One celebrity who experienced her own marriage crash and is now speaking about why she believes celebrity marriages are crashing is actress and TV personality Venita Akpofure. During an interview with the Guardian, the beautiful actress sat down to discuss Big Brother, misconceptions about her, and why she believes celebrity marriages are crashing. Here's what Venita Akpofure said.

**Before reading on, please make sure to like and follow my Facebook page (Jide Okonjo) so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. I have a really fun page. If you like my page, you will have fun too. So what's stopping you? Like my page and let's have fun together!

Venita Akpofure

Speaking about why she went on Big Brother and her advice to current housemates, Venita said:

At that stage of my life, I wanted to be vulnerable for somebody else to see that it’s okay to fall apart and build yourself back. Our culture is very quick to shame, tell you why you don’t have, why you didn’t do, what you shouldn’t have done as a woman or as a wife. And for some of us, we may never get it right, which is okay. So, we just take it easy, be the best of you and keep pushing, that’s it.

Knowing what I know, I will say that you cannot get another housemate that you can trust; your partnership can’t take you through today and you’re better off facing it on your own. Whatever you do, don’t shift to a sisterhood, to romance, and do not do man or woman relationships. Throw that one in the trash, it will end in tears and last last, everybody go chop breakfast.

Speaking about the biggest misconceptions people have about her, Venita said:

That I am as rich as Bill Gates or that I am as evil as Lucifer himself but I’m okay with everybody’s misconceptions. Like, what do you want me to do? I have my own misconceptions about people too.

Speaking about juggling between being a mother and running her different businesses, Venita said:

I’m not juggling anything. I’m just figuring it out. Don’t get it right all the time. That’s my opinion. Someone else may disagree. Someone else may say that she could do it, but I don’t get it right. There’s no handbook to this. The plan that worked for my mum and dad cannot be applied to me. This is a different time, different society, but I think it’s very important to prepare the child for the road and not the road for the child. That saves a lot of heartache. So, talk to your children, communicate with them, which Nigerian parents are struggling to do. But tell them the real thing, what marriage is actually about. I’m a realist. That’s the way I learn.

Speaking about why she believes so many celebrity marriages are crashing, Venita said:

From my experience and from the experiences of other people close to me, it really is communication. We’re in an industry where everybody wants to be tough and everybody is taking influences from what they feel their relationships should be, based on social media, but a relationship is really a journey. We don’t communicate well when we are hurt and sad, dissatisfied, or unhappy and it’s common in the black community worldwide.

Venita and her ex-husband

What do you think of what Venita said? Do you agree? Do you disagree? Let me know your thoughts by leaving a comment either below or on my Jide Okonjo Facebook post.

That's All.

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to like my page (Jide Okonjo) if you don’t already for more stories like this, the fun never ends

To catch up on other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day.

celebrities
Like

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.