Humans logo

Why Actors Are Not Getting Well Paid - Ini Edo

Ini Edo gets candid

By Jide OkonjoPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like

Nollywood actress and producer, Ini Edo, has spent 23 years in the Nigerian entertainment industry. That is a really long time which means a lot of experience, and a lot of first-hand experience on how things have changed within the industry over the years. During Ini Edo's interview with Hip TV, she opened up about how she feels having spent 23 years in this industry, what she believes keeps her relevant, and finally how actors' pay has been affected over the years. Here is what Ini Edo had to say about it all.

**Before reading on, please make sure to like and follow my Facebook page (Jide Okonjo) so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. I have a really fun page. If you like my page, you will have fun too. So what's stopping you? Like my page and let's have fun together!

Ini Edo on Hip TV

During the interview, Ini Edo was asked "23 years in the industry. Have you thought about it? How does that make you feel?" She responded:

INI EDO: I'm beginning to get to that place where I feel like I am going to feel accomplished at some point. I think before "Shanty Town" came out, I wouldn't say that I got that feeling. But now, I kinda get the feeling that I will eventually get the fulfilment of having spent that number of years in this industry.

"What would you say has kept you relevant through the years?"

INI EDO: I think passion. I really just love this job. I love everything about this job. Like I don't think there's anything else. I've tried to do other things. I've actually taken out time, I took a few years off, thinking I was done. But the passion just won't let it go. You can't just let it go. So I think the need to keep wanting more. The need to keep keeping it alive. That has kept me relevant. Because what that means is I always have to find a way to evolve. Always have to find a way to better yourself as an actor. To improve on yourself, to bring value to the industry, so yeah. I think that has kept me relevant.

"Fast forward to today, do you think Nigerian actors are starting to be well paid?"

INI EDO: No. Actors are of course not getting well paid. We haven't gotten there yet. We're still on that journey, but at least we're getting there. But actors are not getting what they deserve. I mean you can't even begin to - I mean first of all, other than the big platforms that we have now, and perhaps the cinemas, how much is a filmmaker going to use to make a movie that is going to Africa Magic Epic for instance. So you look at the budget, how much can an actor possibly get? You know, so of course not! And then it gets better as it gets in the cinema, it gets better, then of course the bigger platforms. But hey, we are still nowhere near there.

Wow! What do you think of what Ini Edo had to say? Let me know your thoughts by leaving a comment either below or on my Jide Okonjo Facebook post.

That's All.

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to follow my page (Jide Okonjo) if you don’t already for more stories like this, the fun never end

To catch up on other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day

celebrities
Like

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.