Humans logo

What My Son Does That Always Fills My Heart - Wizkid Opens Up About Fatherhood

Wizkid talks fatherhood, performing, and new music

By Jide OkonjoPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like

Nigerian singer Wizkid is back with a brand new album called "More Love, Less Ego". It is the singer's fifth studio album, and now during a new interview with Apple Music, the very successful artiste opens up about why he chose to call the album "More Love, Less Ego", success, and being a performer. Here is what Wizkid had to say.

**Before reading on, please make sure to like and follow my Facebook page (Jide Okonjo) so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. I have a really fun page. If you like my page, you will have fun too. So what's stopping you? Like my page and let's have fun together!

Standing on stage hours before he was meant to perform, Wizkid was asked: "When you perform, the venue is going to be filled with the biggest Wizkid fans. What is that person's experience going to feel like?" He responded:

This is like one of my biggest dreams: it's to actually come and watch a Wizkid show like this but I can't.

"You want to be here and see what they see? You want to have an out-of-body experience?"

I really want to. I want to find out why they keep coming to my show. I'm trying to experience it myself.

"You don't know what it is?"

I don't know but I know every time I'm up there [on stage], it's magical. I want the people that come and watch me to feel a lot of love, a lot of love in their heart. That's what I want them to feel.

"You said that the success that came to you last year did not surprise you. Is that part of a winner's mentality?"

100 percent. If you put in work, there is no way you're ever going to lose. Anything you put your mind to and you're consistently working on that thing, you're showing up every time at the right time, you're never gonna lose. Like how are you going to lose?

"How did you land on the title More Love, Less Ego?"

It's part of my life. The last one was "Made in Lagos", that's where I'm from. You already know where I'm from, so now it's just to show you what the world needs at this time right now in this moment. It's a whole lot of love.

"I feel that means that you need more love?"

I have a lot of love man. I've got four kids man, what more do you need? [laughs]. When my son kisses me at night good night or when he's going to school you know, that feels my heart. You can't even buy that kind of love. That's all that matters. That's pretty much what I'm trying to say. This is pretty much all I live for. My kids, my happiness, me taking care of people close to me, my friends, spreading a lot of love just doing what I do best and making amazing music. That is the most important thing in my life.

Wizkid's More Love, Less Ego album is out now to stream and download. What did you think about what he said, and if you have listened to the album, what do you think about the music? Let me know your thoughts by leaving a comment either below or on my Jide Okonjo Facebook post.

That's All.

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to follow my page (Jide Okonjo) if you don’t already for more stories like this, the fun never ends

To catch up on other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day.

celebrities
Like

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.