Humans logo

What It Felt Like Being a Child Actor - Somadina Adinma

The actor talks acting, fame.

By Jide OkonjoPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like

Nigerian actor Somadina Adinma started off his acting career when he was very young. In fact, he was only 8 years old when he started acting. His debut movie was titled Charge and Bail, and after that Somadina went on to act in such movies as Ordinary Fellows, Breath of Anger, Yahoo Plus, and more.

There has been a lot said about child actors and their experiences. Some people feel young children shouldn't be actors as it affects them negatively, others are of the opinion that it is good. During a new interview with Somadina Adinma for The Sun, the actor opened up about his own experience as a child actor, and how it has been dealing with fame. Here is what Somadina Adinma said.

**Before reading on, please make sure to like and follow my Facebook page (Jide Okonjo) so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. I have a really fun page. If you like my page, you will have fun too. So what's stopping you? Like my page and let's have fun together!

Somadina Adinma

Speaking about his origin and what it was like being a child actor, Somadina said:

SOMADINA ADINMA: I grew up in Enugu, a calm city. Whenever I’m in Enugu, I feel like I’m home just as I feel at home in my hometown in Anambra State. I started as a child actor, went for audition and got a role. But I became a household name when I did the movie, Speak the Word. It earned me an Africa Movie Academy Award (AMAA) nomination for Best Performance by Child.

[It all started when] one day, I went to a set close to my house and told them I’d like to become an actor. The guy I met on set said they needed smart kids, so he’d come see my mom and if she agrees, he would come take me to auditions. My mom approved of it; I got a role and got paid. She was glad I had started making money as a kid actor.

I never really imagined it because it was all for the fun of it. But later on, it started getting serious and it became a full time job, because people who love your work actually push you to do better.

Then, most people would say, ‘this small boy is always on set, doesn’t he go to school?’ But luckily I was a smart kid, so I was able to juggle acting and my studies. My mom also provided a lesson teacher to help me cover things I missed in school while I was on set.

Then, speaking on how the fame part affected his life, Somadina opened up saying:

SOMADINA ADINMA: People I don’t know feel they can tell me how to live my life, what to do and what not to do. That’s the craziest because I actually hate being tossed around, but then, I’d just have to let it slide. They see me as a calm guy. But they don’t know me fully.

Fame has opened a lot of doors for me. Since my childhood till now, I keep meeting people that genuinely love me without wanting anything from me. They just love to see me happy and that means a lot to me. [But it's embarassing] when people talk about me outside, even when I’m there.

Somadina as child actor

What do you think about what Somadina Adinma said? Let me know your thoughts by leaving a comment either below or on my Jide Okonjo Facebook post.

That's All.

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to follow my page (Jide Okonjo) if you don’t already for more stories like this, the fun never end

To catch up on other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day

celebrities
Like

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.