Humans logo

What I've Learned After 2 Years of Doing Music - Ayra Starr

Ayra gets candid

By Jide OkonjoPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

Nigerian singer Ayra Starr burst into the limelight last year when she released her debut single "Away" to critical and commercial success. Since then the girl has been enjoying a very successful career with hit songs like "Bloody Samaritan" and "Rush" under her belt.

Now, Ayra is reflecting and talking about the lessons that she has learnt after these 2 years. Here is what she said.

**Before reading on, please make sure to like and follow my Facebook page (Jide Okonjo) so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. I have a really fun page. If you like my page, you will have fun too. So what's stopping you? Like my page and let's have fun together!

"What are the biggest lessons you’ve learned so far as you continue to gain recognition around the globe?"

I’ve learned that to be a great artist and a great human being, you have to be very intentional with everything you do. You have to wake up and decide, because it’s very easy to not be good. That’s the easy part. There’s a lot of things that can make you not be a good person. There’s other things that can make you not be a good artist. It’s very easy to just wake up and not want to make music. You have to be very intentional with everything you put out, everything you do, or else you won’t get what you want. That’s one thing I’ve learned.

I’ve also learned to trust myself and trust my intuition and not overthink things. I remember my first time in the U.S. was such a weird time for me because I’ve never been to the U.S. Even the remotes were different from where I was from. And I was like, “What’s happening? This place is so difference.” But it shifted my comfort zone. I used to be so comfortable where I was. And when I went to the U.S., I saw there was a lot more to life than what I thought it was. I wasn’t too sure of myself, I used to overthink a lot of things I did, I wasn’t sure about who I was at that point, I lost my self view. But now, I feel like traveling around the world and seeing different parents of the world and different people has made me very self-conscious. And I’m very intentional about the way I love myself and the way I approach life.

"With the rise of vocalists like you, Tems and Tiwa Savage, what are your hopes for African female artists, especially Nigerian female artists, in the future?"

Everyone you just mentioned now are people that I listened to before I even started doing music. They made such amazing music and they all, in their own ways, have inspired me to be a confident woman and defy gravity. I can’t wait for more amazing female artists. I know, as much as I pray, I know that me doing this right now is inspiring a lot of young women and telling them that they can do it, too. They can go into music all over the world, from South Africa to Nigeria to Ghana, everywhere. I want to be an inspiration to any woman that is coming now and just tell her, “You can do it. Why not? Just do it.”

What do you think of what Ayra Starr said? Let me know your thoughts by leaving a comment either below or on my Jide Okonjo Facebook post.

That's All.

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to like my page (Jide Okonjo) if you don’t already for more stories like this, the fun never ends

To catch up on other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day.

celebrities
Like

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.