Humans logo

What I Say to Those Criticizing Tinubu’s Government - Toyin Abraham

Toyin speaks out

By Jide OkonjoPublished 8 months ago 3 min read

Nigerian actress and producer Toyin Abraham has been in the news for a number of reasons in recent times. She has been in the news because of her political affiliations with President Tinubu, and she has also been in the news because of her movies that some people have heavily criticized. Now, during a new interview with BBC Pidgin, Toyin Abraham is opening up about why she feels people used to insult her movies for not being sweet, her favorite movie, and talks about the current government. Here's what Toyin Abraham had to say.

**Before reading on, please make sure to sign up for my newsletter below so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. At the end of each week, I'll compile all the best stories from the week and send them right to your inbox, so you don't miss out on any of the hottest things that have happened throughout the week. Sign up now so you always get alerted!

Toyin Abraham during interview

Speaking about why she feels like her movies get criticized for not being sweet, Toyin Abraham said:

TOYIN ABRAHAM: You know say we get the numbers. Yoruba movies, we get the numbers, but money no dey. But God don help us now, money don dey dey, people don dey see am and God don dey do am. So how everybody dey do their own, I no know. But if you see me, if you look at me, from where I start, you will see. Some people dey abuse my films, say my movies no sweet, my movies sweet! Na money no dey. But thank God say money don dey. Now you see as Ijakumo dey. The one wey I just finish shooting, that one, e sweet die.

Speaking about her favorite movie, Toyin Abraham said:

TOYIN ABRAHAM: Alakada. Na Alakada because that movie, e no fit die because everyday like this I dey always see one person dey lie lie lie. As I dey come, I don already see lie lie. Alakada don be franchise. Na me get the name, na me get everything, na franchise. But I dey take my time. But if I wan do the Alakada now, no be me go do am agaiin. I just play small role. I go find new face. I know say the person wey go play that Alakada, God go use me for that person. God go use that movie for that person. And we go shoot am well well, no be small film, we go shoot am well well!

Speaking about those talking bad about current government, Toyin Abraham said:

TOYIN ABRAHAM: Politics don go, na government we dey now. Make we be one family. Make we join hands. Anybody wey need justice, we go join hands get justice for the person. Anybody wey no do well, we go join hands. All this one, blame this, blame that, e no go work oh. Now we should come together as one. One. And help this government. And whatever they're not doing right, that we think we want to talk, we can come together as one. And the ones they're doing right too, let them know that they are doing well. Let us praise them. Let us come together as one.

What do you think about what Toyin Abraham had to say? Let me know your thoughts by leaving a comment either below or on my Jide Okonjo Facebook post.

That's All.

Btw, in addition to blogging, I also make money through Whatsapp Status Sessions. If you also want to earn money through status sessions, I've created a complete guide to help you get started so we can all eat!

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to subscribe to my newsletter if you don’t already for more stories like this - collated every week and sent right to your inbox so you don't miss out on anything.

celebrities

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Jide OkonjoWritten by Jide Okonjo

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.