Humans logo

What I Say to People Who Don't Like 'Sability' - Ayra Starr

Ayra Starr talks 'Sability', criticism, more.

By Jide OkonjoPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like

Nigerian singer Ayra Starr is a bonafide hit maker. In her short time out as a musician, Ayra Starr has been responsible for a number of bonafide hits including "Bloody Samaritan", "Rush", "Beggie Beggie", "Sare", "Away", and recently "Sability".

Her most recent outing "Sability" though, while already a hit, has definitely also been hit with a lot of criticism about the lyrics, music, and similarity to Awilo Longomba. Now, during interviews, Ayra Starr is explaining more about the creative process of the song, as well as speaking about the criticism she gets, and what she has to say to people who don't like "Sability". Here is what Ayra Starr had to say.

**Before reading on, please make sure to like and follow my Facebook page (Jide Okonjo) so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. I have a really fun page. If you like my page, you will have fun too. So what's stopping you? Like my page and let's have fun together!

Speaking about why she made Sability and the success it's enjoying, Ayra Starr said to The Punch:

AYRA STARR: Of course, I am excited. I wanted people to feel good and be happy while listening to the song. I am happy it’s doing that and even more. I wanted to put out a song that would make some people remember the times in their lives when they literally had no worries; and, that was how I arrived at ‘Sability’.

Speaking about how the studio session for the song went during a conversation in Kenya, Ayra Starr explained:

AYRA STARR: "Sability" was one of my funniest studio sessions ever. It was too funny. After every line we wrote, I would literally be on the ground laughing. Cuz it was just funny. I was like "Shinji gagawa", heyyy! [laughs] So it was just too funny. It was literally the funniest studio session. It was the most unserious studio session. I was just happy to like do something new. I wanted to do something new. I remember last year, I was saying I want to make music I grew up listening to. Music they played at birthday parties and it was just like you know all those big African music like every country can listen to, even French people, that is what I wanted to do. And I ended up doing that with "Sability".

Addressing those people who don't like "Sability", Ayra Starr said:

AYRA STARR: They really just have to take the time to listen to the song well. It’s a happy song and I hope they are happy when they listen to it.

Speaking about how women are more criticized than men in this industry, Ayra Starr said:

AYRA STARR: I am grateful to the women who came before me, who paved the way. Because of them, I am not dealing with so much. However, there is still that issue of female artistes being scrutinized more than their male colleagues. Female artistes are not held to the same standards as the males.

Finally, speaking about if she feels pressure to keep releasing hit songs, Ayra Starr said:

AYRA STARR: I am never under pressure to release hit songs. I just want to make songs that make sense to me and my fans.

What do you think about what Ayra Starr said? Let me know your thoughts by leaving a comment either below or on my Jide Okonjo Facebook post.

That's All.

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to follow my page (Jide Okonjo) if you don’t already for more stories like this, the fun never end

To catch up on other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day

celebrities
Like

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.