Humans logo

What Having a Viral Hit Like 'Peru' Taught Me - Fireboy DML

Fireboy DML talks about music, 'Peru', and life

By Jide OkonjoPublished about a year ago 4 min read
Like

Not many musicians in their lifetime get to experience the level of fame and success that 'Peru' brought to Nigerian singer Fireboy DML. Almost as if overnight, that singular song changed Fireboy's life and now, after months of the song being out and having its moment, Fireboy is finally getting some time to look back at that time of his life and reflect on what he learnt from it. Fireboy during his interview with HypeBeast also talked about how his life has changed since releasing his album, what he does outside of music, and his advice for his younger self. Here's what Fireboy DML said.

**Before reading on, please make sure to like and follow my Facebook page (Jide Okonjo) so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. I have a really fun page. If you like my page, you will have fun too. So what's stopping you? Like my page and let's have fun together!

"How has life changed for you since Playboy released and what was the message you were trying to convey?"

Fireboy DML: It’s amazing. I’m in a new phase in my career and my life. I’m just learning to enjoy the simple moments. Honestly, it’s a mix of everything. In the grand scheme of things, it’s really about me learning to accept, lean into, and enjoy my superstardom. Apart from that, the album is me trying to remind myself not to be too cautious or too much of an overthinker. I wanted to focus on coming out to play and living life with new experiences and people.

"What does life outside of music look like for you? Any hobbies or interests you have that people may not know about?"

Most of my fans know I love reading. My favorite author is Dan Brown and there’s a book of his that I really love called Digital Fortress. I also live and breathe football. Every Sunday, I play with my friends when I’m in Lagos. That’s my way to exercise and keep fit because I don’t like going to the gym. [laughs] I’d rather play for two hours than go to the gym for 30 minutes.

To be honest, I’m more of a homebody and like to spend my time in solitude. Fame can be a lot and having time alone is such a luxury nowadays. So I try to prioritize whatever keeps me grounded, whether it’s being at home with family or by myself. It can be so noisy out there

"What did having a viral hit like “Peru” teach you about yourself?"

The song put me in the carefree mindset to make this album. After I made “Peru” and saw how successful it was, I realized how beautiful music can be if you leave it the way it is. Instead of having to force or rearrange things, I thought to myself: “what if I made an album where I didn’t have to overthink any of the songs?” So, “Peru” changed my life not only because I made the biggest song of my career yet, but also because the creative process that led to Playboy was very seamless and stress-free.

"If you could go back in time and meet your younger self, what’s the biggest advice you would give?"

Take it easy and take your time. Focus on things like finding your sound and making sure you have a strong foundation as both a person and an artist. I learned this in retrospect, as I now realize I may have made decisions because I was in a hurry to get my sound out. But mistakes are just a part of my journey.

What do you think of what Fireboy DML said? Let me know your thoughts by leaving a comment either below or on my Jide Okonjo Facebook post.

That's All.

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to follow my page (Jide Okonjo) if you don’t already for more stories like this, the fun never ends

To catch up on other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day.

celebrities
Like

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.