Humans logo

What Do You Call Her?

This is a story based on my experience at Taoyuan Taipei International Airport (Taiwan) Terminal 2.

By Domingo Añasco-Gaces Samontina, Jr.Published 4 years ago 6 min read
1

Ante-penultimate April 2, 2020, I arrived at Taoyuan Taipei International Airport since I will head out back to the Philippines the next day. When I enter the airport, I immediately ask the security in charge where I can find a place to stay and eat. They recommended me to visit the 5th floor where there is a Family Mart.

Inside the Family Mart with my luggage

When you reach the 5th floor using both escalator and elevator, you can find the store on the right side. The place is very convenient peculiarly for the traveler. There are a lot of tables and chairs where you can eat and relax. There is also a place where you can charge your phone, laptop, etc. The Family Mart is open 24/7. Because I have no place to stay inside the airport I decided to stay in this place. It’s quiet and cold a perfect place indeed to stay overnight, just make sure you have your jacket because the place is very cold. On the off chance that you need to wash your hand there is a sink/restroom that is accessible extremely close to the long table.

The spot is likewise ideal for a selfie as you can locate a couple of spots to take a posture.

After I have my supper, I chose to room around the area. I am not reluctant to leave my luggage as I probably am aware Taiwan is a safe country. Alongside my stroll around, there were three (3) individuals I see around the spot. They were voyagers excessively resting in the seats. Perhaps their flight is likewise the following morning same as mine. Subsequent to taking a few recordings, pictures, and selfies, I returned to my place.

After a couple of times, I observed that one (1) of the traveler wakes up. At first, I thought he is a boy but after a closer look, she is a girl. The girl comes to my place and said “Hi”, I replied to her “Hello” with a grin. She started to introduce herself but not verbally. She began to present herself yet not verbally. She is simply utilizing her telephone to state what she needed to state to me. The young lady is Japanese by nationality (as indicated by her). She is an understudy and she stayed in the airport six (6) hours before I arrived at the place.

I find that she has difficulty in speaking English. But it’s okay I completely understand her. Luckily the place has free Wi-Fi so I can use my Google Translator. I started to get befuddled though I set the translation from English to Japanese (according to her she is a Japanese by nationality) then again she cannot understand the Japanese words written on the phone. After that short conversation, she went back to her place. Her place is on the other side of the long table where I stay.

The Japanese Girl

After a couple of times, I went to her place to ask about the restroom but it takes us 2 minutes before she understands what I am asking. I do a lot of sign languages to demonstrate to her what I am looking for. Again, we do it through phone conversation no verbal communication. I finally consider to show to her the picture and luckily she knows the place. She guides me to the restroom area which is also on the same floor. The restroom is situated on the right side of the elevator.

I do my thing inside the restroom and I am happy because their restroom is very beamy and clean. Outside the restroom are the two (2) shower rooms, where you can take shower for free. The place is very sizable and clean too.

Picture inside the Shower Room

I went back to my place and take a sleep. Sadly, I was not able to sleep because I am only sitting in a chair and the place is very cold though I wear my thick jacket it’s not enough. It’s 2:00 am and I decided to eat the remaining food I have. By the way, I buy two kinds of foods in the Family Mart for my dinner, but I only eat the other food with rice.

These are the foods I buy the time I arrived in the Family Mart .

After a few times (past 2:00 am), as I am taking my early meal, the girl comes to me and she is saying something, again via phone.

Our Conversation:

Girl: On here phone, “Hi. I am hungry”.

After reading that I felt sad and I wanted to give her money to buy food.

Girl: “1. I don’t have available Taiwan dollar in my pocket.”

“2. I already converted them in Yen.”.

I replied using my phone (Google Translator).

Me: “1. If you already converted your money into Yen, you might want to exchange with my Taiwan dollar.”

Girl: “No. My money is enough only.” “I will use my money to pay for my tuition fee.”

I am typing on my phone response to her last message, but she keeps a distance with me whenever she sees someone is approaching our place. So I am really thinking was going on? Is this woman try to scam me or what? Luckily, I am on my right senses, I didn’t feel any negative aura eats my concentration. After people pass by, she again comes back.

Girl: “I am really hungry. I never ate two meals.”

Me: “Really?”

Girl: “Yes. I don’t have extra money.”

She again keeps distance because there are people coming into our place. I went back to my area. After a few minutes, I decided to invite her to come with me inside the Family Mart to buy her food and I will be the one to pay the price. So I went to her place and said:

Me: “Come with me please.” “Let’s go inside the store and I will buy you food to eat.”

She observed the whole place. She looks side by side to see if there are people coming to us.

Girl: “No. I will not go with you.”

I am now really confused about what she really wanted.

Me: “Why? I will buy your food and I will pay for it.”

Girl: “You will go inside but without me.”

Me: “But why?” “What’s wrong?”

Girl: “Just buy me foods.”

Me: “What kind of food you like?” “I don’t know what foods you like to eat.”

Girl: “Just buy me two (2) meals with rice.”

Me: “Okay. Just stay here and I will buy the foods.”

I went inside the store and buy the two (2) meals with rice and she requested. I buy the food that I usually eat whenever I buy foods in Family Mart. After paying, I went to her place then give the food. She again looks side by side to check if there are people before she received the foods and then said. “Thank you.” and I said “Your welcome with a smile.”

I went back to my place with a smile in my heart for I believe I did something good. Before a quick nap, I glance at the girl and feel happy that she eats the foods while listening to music. After she eats, she is also taking her nap.

The Japanese Girl (student)

What do you call her?

Did I do the right thing?

If you were in my situation, would you do the same?

Would you feel the same way too to what I feel during that situation?

Like what you read?

Don't forget to please like my story.

Thank you.

travel
1

About the Creator

Domingo Añasco-Gaces Samontina, Jr.

.Professional Member of the Mechatronics and Robotics Society of the Philippines

.Certified Documented Information Controller with TUV Rheinland Qualifications

.Master of Science in Engineering (on-going) with Professional Teacher Certificate

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.