Humans logo

What Being a Married Woman in Nigeria Has Taught Me - Simi

"How can you talk to a married woman like that?"

By Jide OkonjoPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
1

"How can you talk to a married woman like that?"

If there is one thing I love about Nigerian singer, Simi, it’s how honest and outspoken she is. Through her music and through social media, she regular gives us insight into her thoughts on life and how navigating it affects her.

One thing she talked about before getting married was the struggles of being a single woman in Nigeria especially when she went house hunting, and now that she’s married, Simi still has a couple of thoughts about being married today. Are you ready to hear some of her thoughts? Then let’s go!

**Before reading on, please make sure to like and follow my Facebook page so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. I have a really fun page. If you like my page, you will have fun too. So what's stopping you? Like my page and let's have fun together!

Before getting married, Simi talked about the struggles of being a single woman in Lagos, especially when she went house-hunting. In a Snapchat video I’ll link below, she explained her struggle saying:

I’ve been trying to find a house now for weeks, maybe even months now and do you know how hard it is to find a house? And you know the bit that makes me sad is that it’s not that I haven’t found houses that I like cuz I have several times, but they won’t let me have the house. I have so many factors that are odds against me, let me explain to you:

First of all, I’m a single woman. It’s almost impossible for a single woman to get a house in Lagos because they think you’re a ho. Apparently I have faulted somehow by not being a married woman. Secondly, I’m an artiste also equals to I’m a ho. They assume that if you’re an artiste you’re definitely going to be wayward, you’re going to live a wayward lifestyle and make a mess of the house. One of these agents said to my face “you know your profession is lousy”. I have my money, I want to pay. I’m not begging for free house.

Next time I say it’s a man’s world, if anybody should mistakenly interrupt me, I’ll beat your ass.

Now that she’s married, she hasn’t forgotten about her struggles as a single woman, and she is still defending single women today. In fact, not long after getting married, Simi took to Twitter to say:

Hate when people defend women with "how can you talk to a married woman like that?" "You can't do that to her. Do you know she's married?"

I know u mean well, but you're implying that disrespecting single women is excusable. We gotta change that.

Marriage does not elevate the value of a woman. Every woman, regardless of status, must be treated respectfully. Some married women also need to erase this idea that they're more special. You're really not sis. Your special is in the good that you do and the value you add.

She also addressed how African women a lot times only earn the full respect of their parents after marriage writing:

I also think that a lot of African women only earn respect from their parents when they're married and "under the control of another man"

Now Simi is speaking out again. Last week, she released an Instagram video showing her with a younger man in bed.

The video was a clip from an upcoming music video. At the time Simi shared this video unto social media, a lot of people starting coming for her.

Business-woman Tania Omotayo wrote:

Ah ah who are you romancing dear? Who approved this video 😒

to which Simi responded:

he's like a cousin to me 😂

Another user then said:

Calling AG right away

to which Simi replied:

When he dropped video, you didn’t call me right away oh.

After that comments upon comments about how she shouldn’t release a video like this, doesn’t she know she’s married, what would AG think started flooding the comments section so much so that Simi ultimately commented:

I'm going to OFF the comments if you people don't behave yourselves.

As much as Simi is enjoying her marriage to fellow singer, Adekunle Gold, and the two of them now have a baby together - Simi is still learning and addressing how society treats a married woman versus a single woman. Hearing her takes on it is always very interesting to me and I hope it has been interesting to you too.

That's All.

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to like my page if you don’t already for more stories like this, the fun never ends!

To catch up on other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day.

celebrities
1

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.