Humans logo

Weddings, Birthdays, and Events, Oh My!

Why I Love Planning Events

By Kayla CrowellPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Weddings, Birthdays, and Events, Oh My!
Photo by Nick Karvounis on Unsplash

I love weddings and I love a good party. Mostly, though, I enjoy planning them. For me, the fun is in the details. Seeing that dream come to life. Whether you had your heart set on a boho wedding with peacock feathers or you’re wanting a penis themed birthday party for your nana with a sense of humor, I want to be a part of it. Not on the guest list, but behind the scenes. I want to be the one who’s helping you find the perfect baker who can make a cake that looks like a real life peacock, or finding provocative accoutrements to go with that cake pan they sell at Spencer’s.

I love the look of pure joy on a bride’s face when she sees the décor of her wedding, how beautiful her cake looks, how ecstatic she is to see the venue all decked out just the way she’s pictured it since she was a little girl. Seeing that spark in her eye, lets me know that I did a good job. It brings me joy to bring joy to people on some of the biggest days of their lives.

I love the delighted expressions of grandmothers and grandfathers who didn’t know their grandchildren were throwing them a surprise birthday party for their big day, how excited they are and how loved they feel to know they were important enough for them to get decorators and a cake and all the trimmings.

Being a part of people’s joy reminds me that there is good in this world, that there is kindness, that there is love, and it doesn’t just come from me, it comes from others too. That is why I love planning events for people.

I discovered that I had a knack for it in planning my own wedding in 2016, but it wasn’t until I started helping friends plan theirs that I realized how much I enjoyed it.

Planning someone’s special event brings out a sort of childlike giddiness in me, I get to be involved in the process, I get to help them realize their vision, I get to let my creativity wander, and in the end they’re always so grateful and happy, it just makes my heart swell to know I’ve done a good job and to know I’ve helped lighten their burden to make their special day that much more special. It’s my passion because it brings me joy, I wouldn’t be passionate about it if it didn’t.

A friend of mine and I are in the process of opening our very own event planning business. Weddings, birthdays, promotion parties, corporate events, showers, you name it and we’ll plan it.

You may be asking yourself, how does a membership fit in to an event planning business? Well, with a membership to our event planning business you would receive the most obvious of perks to any membership—discounts! Sign up at a discounted price when you sign on as our client for any event and automatically receive a discount on any future events you book with us to be planned, no matter the size of the event.

What’s in it for us? There are two things that a membership would do to benefit our business:

1. More business! If you have a membership to an event planning service, you’re more likely to take advantage of that discount from us than to find another provider.

2. The initial membership fee. We’d be making just a little bit more money up front when you sign up to become a member, and eventually, even more when you utilize your membership.

With a membership to our event planning business, everyone benefits, and I get to keep doing what brings me happiness.

diy
Like

About the Creator

Kayla Crowell

Kayla is an aspiring author with three works that are currently undergoing the editing stage. She also writes poetry and is an amateur artist. She loves to sing, especially to her little boy, and is also and aspiring singer.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.