Humans logo

We all need a Betty in our lives

by Anshuman Kumar

By Anshuman KumarPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
We all need a Betty in our lives
Photo by leah hetteberg on Unsplash

This is a tribute to my favourite comic book character Betty Cooper from Archie Comics. Although I have not read an Archie comics book for at least 15 years now, there was a time I was a big fan of them. In my early years in India I was very jubilant whenever my parents or relatives would get me a Archie comic book for my birthday. Sometimes they would get me one in other months as well. What a lovely bonus!! I liked the different comic books (digests) but liked the Betty & Veronica series a lot. I would have preferred if they had a series solely on Betty.

I have been living in Canada for over 25 years now. Prior to that I was in India for more than 9 years. Those years in India were my school going years. I used to read Archie comics on weekends. I liked many characters but Betty was undoubtedly my favourite.

I know this will sound silly and naive on my part but I used to dream that I was a student in Archie’s school. I would have asked out Betty on a date and would have been on cloud nine if she accepted. I was in an American school for over a year in Jakarta, Indonesia so in a sense I was looking for someone like Betty. There was none.

Characters such as Archie and his friends in the comics opened up a new world for millions of children in Asia, Africa and other parts of the world. It was a simple and innocent introduction to the USA and its small towns for so many children and even young adults who had never been to the USA. It gave an idea of how families lived, what school was like, what the social life was of teenagers, etc.

I remember Betty a little. She was a teenaged blonde girl who was very kind. She liked Archie a lot and was his good friend. However, it seemed that Archie liked another girl Veronica. Even at a very young age I used to think that when I grow up I will marry a real life Betty; she epitomized beauty and kindness.

I actually did marry a real life Betty. For me my wife Smita is an Indian version of Betty. She is beautiful and very kind. I think one day jokingly I should call her Betty. I asked her but she is not familiar with Archie comics. However, she has all those good values and virtues that Betty has.

In every story I read in Archie comics I would wait for Betty's entrance. Her dialogues and interactions were very kind. She always cared for Archie and her friendship with him was very endearing. I also recall her relationship with her parents and it was a very good one.

She was friends with other characters such as Jughead, Moose, Big Ethel and Dilton, etc. Her rivalry with Veronica was legendary. It always seemed that Betty was more graceful toward Veronica while Veronica always seemed to be distant and unkind towards Betty. She was a good student in school and always seemed positive and cheerful.

I will always have a soft corner for Betty. Her beauty, charm, kindness and friendly nature was very well on display through her story lines as well as the stories in which she even had a minor part. Her feelings for Archie was a good and innocent way of an introduction of love for many teenagers around the world in my opinion.

I thank the creators of Archie comics for creating memorable characters in the Archie comics book series but especially for creating Betty Cooper. I think we all need a Betty in our lives.

pop culture
Like

About the Creator

Anshuman Kumar

I live and work in Canada and am originally from India. I am interested in movies, short stories, swimming, travel etc. Tips are definitely optional but are very welcome. Thank you for reading.

My email is [email protected]

Thanks.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.