Humans logo

Was I born in the wrong generation?

I'm not one for always being up-to-date with "the times".

By RoseinbloomPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
Was I born in the wrong generation?
Photo by Sebastien LE DEROUT on Unsplash

Haha, those days when we feel and think we are older than we actually are.. *Sighs* *Gets up from chair, hearing some sort of crack in the body* You're wondering next time what part of the body is going to pop next, in theory. Or the times that you remember that it was a certain amount of years ago that you graduated, that you rode the bus for the last time, certain big points even little points in your life felt like eternity ago. Plus the people you remember growing up being little kids are adults and so forth.. Along with the technology.. oh boy, how it has changed since time began. Sometimes it's nice, sometimes it's better to do it the old fashion way.

Today, as I was washing my blanket by hand in the sink, I was thankful to be able to do that and get it clean that way. It needed to be cleaned right away cause I had spilled on it; clumsy me haha. So I washed it by hand all the way cause it needed it anyways. Seeing it air dry makes me happy knowing I had worked to make it clean and not using much electricity. I do the same with my clothes when the washer and driers are being used, plus when I don't have money and or product to use the washers and driers. Including accidents, yada yada.

Call me old fashioned if you will, I love writing letters. Hand writing letters. To get something in the mail from someone you cherish is as if you got presents on Christmas day! For me, I'm easily entertained and enjoy the little things in life so yes, this definitely makes me happy. Patience is needed and news isn't always the fastest. It's still a delightful way of communication.

Cellphones.. This is an interesting one..

We are mostly hooked to these babies as much as our eyes are in our sockets. I know I am guilty of being glued to the screen at times too, more than I want to admit. I would still rather have rotary phone/land line corded phone and a basic phone that held the basic stuff for emergency.

Money on plastic, who would have thought of that?

Even at the age I am, people look at me wondering if I'm going to pay with a card or not. It was really making me feel old when I didn't know how to use one when I did get it. Though I had a rough idea, bit still. To me it was stupid, money on a piece of plastic.. I come to the fact of mixing old habits with new- writing down every time I used it in a check book and using it for emergencies only. Since not many places are accepting checks or at times cash. *Shaking my head*

Rabbit ears, not just a part of a bunny..

Remember watching black and white tv? Silent tv? Box Tv? Color Tv, etc. ? Do you remember being the remote instead of getting to watch was on tv because the rabbit ears also known as antennas wouldn't stay in the place they needed for the signal to come in? Seeing everyone's responses yet not knowing what is going on and they wouldn't tell you. Frustration and you just wanted to change the channel because of it. Or it was someone else's turn because you got tired and needed to rest or go to the restroom.

Talk more to older people better than people my own age, in a different generation than I. It was always like this since I was born. I socialized better with people who where older- more mature than I was. Though being around younger generations I could socialize with them too, just not as well at times. Never really understood why. Found this interesting.

These are just a few things of why I think I'm from the wrong generation I was born in.

Prefer to have a simple life, the way we were created to have. Yet We complicate things as usual.

I hope this made an impact on you today and the days to come,

Roseinbloom

vintage
1

About the Creator

Roseinbloom

You never know who your going to impact, give a smile or a wave today. :) <3

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.