Humans logo

Veteran Actress Casandra Odita Blows Hot While Speaking About Nollywood of Today

Casandra Odita is upset

By Jide OkonjoPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like

Nigerian actress Casandra Odita is a veteran in this game who has acted in a number of blockbuster movies and TV shows over the years. During a new interview with Wake Up Nigeria on TVC, the actress expressed her anger at the situation of Nollywood today, and explained why she is so upset at the things happening today, and it's treatment of talent. Here is what Casandra Odita said.

**Before reading on, please make sure to like and follow my Facebook page (Jide Okonjo) so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. I have a really fun page. If you like my page, you will have fun too. So what's stopping you? Like my page and let's have fun together!

Casandra Odita on Wake Up Nigeria

Speaking about her thoughts on where Nollywood is now vs where it was before, Casandra Odita said:

To be honest, what we used to have before isn't exactly what we're having today. I would have preferred the old Nollywood to this new Nollywood because we do better there, and we have more of stronger stories than what we have today. I'm not going to beat around the bush at all, I'm going to be straight forward. In all in all, what I would love is for us to go back to the old Nollywood if it is possible. And then for us to still come back strong as we used to be, because our movies are no longer as strong as it used to be and it's very very annoying.

Speaking about the reason why she feels this way, Casandra Odita said:

For me not to expose too many things, it's just that the actors and the actresses that come in this time around are not professionals. I will be frank with you. They are not professionals at all. They are just roadside artistes. The reason is that Nollywood has to be properly sanitized. If it is properly sanitized, all these roadside actors, actresses will not come into it. My anger today is that our directors, they're just handpicking actors from the roadside. We have professionals and the professionals they just weave them aside, I don't know why it has to be like that because of what is best known to them. I don't need to expatiate more.

Citing the recent Hanks Anuku story and speaking about how Nollywood treats its actors, Casandra Odita said:

I'm saying it loud and clear, if you are in Nollywood, you are on your own. If you're having problems or you're not having problems, they don't want to know. Even if you are dying, they don't want to know. But if that person dies today, tomorrow you will see them carrying unnecessary placards or going out for candlelight praising that person. When Patoranking sang that song "celebrate me now that I'm alive", I love that song. In Nollywood, it does not sound anything to them at all. So it's just a pity that if you're in Nollywood, you better prepare yourself for your old age, or prepare yourself for anything that is on the way for you. Because nobody will come out to say he or she is helping you out until that person gives up. That's when you will see them coming out, carrying candle, trekking one distance to the other saying good things about that person. It's a pity that we in Nollywood, we don't really love ourselves.

It's so sad to see that Casandra Odita only really has negative things to say about the industry. I really wish the veterans were treated better and have more positive reports to give about the industry, but very often that is not the case. What do you think about what Casandra Odita said? Let me know your thoughts by leaving a comment either below or on my Jide Okonjo Facebook post.

That's All.

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to follow my page (Jide Okonjo) if you don’t already for more stories like this, the fun never ends

To catch up on other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day.

celebrities
Like

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.