Humans logo

Using Fiverr to Promote Medium Articles

I paid a freelancer on Fiverr to promote one of my Medium articles. Did it work and would I recommend it?

By Armchair DetectivePublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Own photograph

In a previous article, I wrote about my thoughts on using Fiverr freelancers to promote content on YouTube (article here). Whilst browsing Fiverr to see what other services were on offer, I noticed that there were gigs that offered to promote your Medium articles.

For people who are not familiar with Fiverr. It is a website where freelancers can offer people one-off jobs, or gigs ranging from marketing to graphic design and web site creation. It is important to remember that anyone can post a gig on Fiverr, there are no experience or qualification requirements, so please do your research and proceed with caution.

My YouTube promotion experience with Fiverr was not overly successful, so therefore I was a little apprehensive about using the site again. However, as Medium is a completely different platform from YouTube, and I wondered if the results may be different.

There were several people all that offered Medium promotion on Fiverr. After reading what many of them offered and looking carefully at the reviews and prices, I chose a freelancer that had over 100 reviews with most of them being positive. The person that I chose stated that they would "do viral promotion to your Medium articles". I paid them £5.68 and in return, I was guaranteed to receive the following:

  • Article promotion
  • Profile building with more follows
  • More views on your stories
  • Real, unique and quality of traffic

I chose an article to promote that had already gained some reads. It was not my most popular article, nor was it my least popular. I simply picked one that was in the middle of the road in terms of popularity, so to speak. Prior to paying for the service, I had 35 followers on Medium and the article in question had 115 views, 85 reads, 74% read ratio and 3 claps.

Once the freelancer had completed the promotion, they sent me a message stating that the order was complete and they had got me 2500 claps. However, according to my stats, that was not the case. The article that I chose to promote now only had 321 views, 266 reads and 64 claps, with a read ratio of 83%. The article did receive more views and claps, but not the 2,500 as claimed.

I could have complained to Fiverr, as I know there is a money back guarantee. However, I did receive some results and I had not paid very much for the service, so I did not bother. I do know other people that have successfully received refunds because the gig results were not as promised.

Conclusion

In a nutshell, the freelancer delivered what I had paid for and what their gig promised. They promoted my article and I received more views, claps and I gained more followers. However, none of those reads came from paying Medium readers, so the earnings from the article did not increase. With this in mind, do not use this service to increase your earnings.

How or where the seller markets the articles, I cannot say. I did a quick google search for my article. However, only Medium came up in my results and the gig did not say where your articles were promoted.

Unlike the service that I used on YouTube, I do not think using Fiverr harmed my Medium profile in any way. YouTube do not like 'fake' views and it can prevent your videos from showing up in search. However, since I used the Fiverr service, my Medium following has grown and so has my income. With this being said, I cannot say if any of this was down to Fiverr as I have been posting much more on the platform as well as diversifying the types of articles that I write.

Thanks for reading.

review
Like

About the Creator

Armchair Detective

Amateur writer, I mostly write about true crime.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

Armchair Detective is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.