Humans logo

Uptown Downtown

A new Love story by Joseph Roy Wright

By Joseph Roy WrightPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
Like
Cover photo for upcoming story Uptown Downtown by Joseph Roy Wright

Up town Down town is a new story being written by Runcorn author, Joseph Roy Wright. This story is intended to become a short love story exploring a couple who meet in the British city of Liverpool. They both come from very different backgrounds, as Emily Burton is from Chelsea and Daniel Parkes is from Speke. The couple will meet in a Liverpool nightclub in this story and it will mostly explore their first meeting in this wonderful city full of night life and excitement. Their personalities will clash as the story goes on and there will be plenty of awkward silences. Daniel will become head over heels for this mysterious Londoner, but Emily will have her doubts, however falling for his more bad boy attitude. She'll start to think about how pretentious some of her old boyfriends were, while appreciating how laid back Daniel is. But will Daniel be able to fit in with her crowd? And how will Emily react when he tells her that he is a bin man! Up town Down town asks the old age question; do opposites really attract?

This is a first for me, as I usually only write horror and sometimes adventure. Most of my stories have been pure fictional fantasy, with only Paranormal Homicide being semi realistic, with it being set in my home town of Runcorn, but outside of that, it is a over the top horror/thriller full of suspense and monsters. So, writing a more realistic story about romance is going to be a challenge, but it is one I am more than willing to accept! All of my stories have had some form of Romance in them, so I believe I am some what experienced in this Genre.

Mostly, I want to explore the city of Liverpool in this story and share my experiences here through a fictional tale like this. Fans of the city will be quite happy to see areas like; Liverpool Lime Street Station, Matthews Street, Bold Street, Concert Square and The Royal Albert Docks in this story, along with many other locales. This story will take you on a journey through Liverpool's night life, as our cast of characters will be visiting a large number of different pubs and clubs. I intend for this story to be very descriptive and immersive to try and help the reader imagine themselves having a great time in one of my favourite cities. I recommend you visit Liverpool one day if you haven't already!

The story will explore the status of class in the UK as I find it to be a very interesting topic. I've always had a taste for Classiness and Glamour and it is one of the main reasons why I decided to become an author/blogger. I am well aware that this may be a sensitive topic for some, but I always like to speak my mind and I don't see anything wrong with a challenging read. With that said, I will try and keep both sides respectful and likeable. The overall message of this story will be about over coming our differences and finding some common ground. Whether or not Daniel and Emily get together in the end is something I won't spoil here, so don't worry!

The nature of this story is still yet to be determined! I have had this idea for a couple of months now, but I recently heard of a writing contest that was looking for Romantic Stories, so I saw an opportunity and began writing. I have only just started writing this tale, but the short version designed for the contest, is almost halfway done. I am uncertain what will become of this story as I would one day like to make an extended version of this, perhaps another Indie Novel? I'd like to go very in depth with this idea, by having the couple meet each others parents, go to their home towns and experience how radically different their lives are. I have had a lot of friends from very different backgrounds, so I know how jarring it can be when you meet someone who lives a completely different life than your own.

This isn't Erotica: I don't want to write a very sexual Romance here, as I believe looks are only surface deep. What glues a couple together is the chemistry between each other. This story will express feelings of cold feet and doubts when learning more about your partner. There have been plenty of moments in my life where I question a relationship due to altering personalities and clashing beliefs. Sometimes long distance relationships can be a very difficult obstacle to tackle; trying to find the time off to meet each other in a world where everyone is working Monday to Friday, and money is tight. Daniel will often make up white lies in this story to make himself look better in front of Emily, when his truths are revealed, she will obviously become more distant and less trusting. Perhaps Daniel will find her to be quite snobbish at times, while his more Ruffian personality may be a bit of a turn off for her too. Drama adds stakes to a Romance like this in my opinion. A lot of the ideas I have shared here may not make it into the short cut, but these are ideas that could make for a really gripping Drama that isn't just about love, but also British culture and how the North and South can often times feel like completely different countries.

Exploring the North West of Britain: I often feel like there are a lot of British films set in London and the South of England. There are very few shows or movies from the UK that explore the lives of the common people (like myself). My upbringing has been very different than those of stereotypical British person. I have met very few Posh/Sophisticated people in my life, I have only visited London once, and although Liverpool can be a very cool and exciting city, I realise, it also has it's bad parts too (like every other city). With my more realistic stories, I always try and explore the darker sides of this not so Great Britain.

It's not all grim and miserable: But don't worry, I won't be taking this story too seriously. There will still be plenty of humour and moments of bliss in this tale. Of course, the core of this story is about Daniel and Emily, so I need to sell this romance and make my readers root for them to get together in the end. This means there will be plenty of cute and charming moments where you will really believe that these two were made for each other. The nights out together will be fun and adventurous, feelings of finding the right person will be fully explored and I'm not afraid of expressing my emotions in these stories (even if I often do feel embarrassed when doing so) because I don't write for success, but more so out of a passion for story telling!

I look forward to finally getting this story published one way or another, whether it be an indie novel, or some short story on a website somewhere. Please let me know on Social Media what you guys think.

If you liked reading this, you may also want to check out my other articles and books on my Amazon and Vocal Pages. Happy reading!

Social Media:

Facebook: The New Order of Alexandria

YouTube: The New Order of Alexandria

Instagram: joe_noa

Twitter: @noa_order

Amazon Authors: Joseph Roy Wright

Books by Joseph Roy Wright: The Town Named Bilmo, Paranormal Homicide, The New Order of Alexandria.

literature
Like

About the Creator

Joseph Roy Wright

Hello there!

My name is Joseph Roy Wright, the British author of 12 Independent novels!

I like to write about movies, pop culture, fiction and horror! I review all the latest films (and classics), I also like to write short stories.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.