Humans logo

Untapped

A Tale of Discovery Through Love and Loss

By Carole Lisa MyersPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

"I believe creators are born every day - every minute, every second; Many whose talents go untapped until the moment love, in some form, taps into it and starts the flow" ~ Richard L. Myers

"I am an artist, a creator"

Until five years ago, those words had never passed my lips, nor had the thought of being so was even considered. Sure, I'd done little projects over the years with my children or something to decorate my home, but what lives within had gone untapped. This is the story of discovering my creativity ...

I met a man who was many things but at the soul of him, an artist. Not one of paints and brushes but one who took raw materials such as leather, silver, and stone - he created with them, things of beauty. Richard was his name and he was dying. He saw something in me that I had been blind to and determined himself with what time he had left, to open my eyes.

Though many times I pushed the limits of his patience, he stuck with me to draw and wring out of my person, every vein that carried with it the promise of creation. I felt an eagerness that was all new to me, and for the first time in my life - I truly felt alive and believed I could be an artist..

The task of birthing an artist for me, was many times frustrating to say the least. In examining my first pieces, I wondered if Richard had been wrong about me. I couldn't see the real beauty of the tangled messes that was the outcome of my first attempts. He encouraged me not to give up so easily and to be just as tenacious in my learning as I was at getting on his nerves (smile). He knew well how to motivate me, and the laughter within the studio walls flowed as easily as the tears. I wanted him to be proud of me as much as I wanted to succeed in making something beautiful. The days passed much the same - my skills improved while his health declined.

The afternoon that I sold my first piece is etched on my heart. I remember well the big smile that was plastered on a certain handsome face, and the knowing in the eyes of the man who'd helped me to discover the artist within. At this point, there was no turning back nor the thought of; I even began designing pieces for him to create. To see his skilled hands bring my designs to life took my motivation and admiration of him to a whole new level.

Richard died of cancer in 2018, only two short years after he'd joined his life with mine. In the pain of grief and loss, many days I just wanted to give up. But what came to life in that time, wouldn't be denied a place in this world. He instilled in me the knowing that if I could picture something in my mind, I could find a way to create it. I'm ever learning and still work under the name of the studio that we chose together - Our Second Wind. Although he is gone, my second wind still blows.

I’ve created many pieces since the time of beginning this journey and have put my artist’s heart into each one. I’ve sold some, donated some for charity, and given even more away. For myself, I do this not to make a living but to translate the feeling of making something with my own hands into joy for those who would receive it. This feeling is what creates my happiness.

"I am an artist, a creator" ~ Carole Lisa Myers

art
Like

About the Creator

Carole Lisa Myers

Creative and open-minded, single mother of teenagers. I'm a current student of life enjoying every day's lessons, and evergrowing. Writing is my passion. My hope is that my words touch another in a relative sense.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.