Humans logo

Two 90’s movies you have to see

Give me, give me Moore, give me Moore, give me Demi Moore.

By Jodie KnowlesPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
2

Its Friday night...I’ve dragged my butt home from work after a LONG week and now, I’m not gunna lie, I’m ready to crack out the wine and a few well deserved tears. I slip into my comfies, make a brew (cuppa tea) and get myself wrapped up on the sofa. I waste zero time messing about, looking for the right thing to watch, I head straight to my all time favourite ‘Indecent Proposal’. The 1993 romantic drama filled with power, sex and most importantly, love. That‘s right, feed me some love drizzled in drama any day of the week “Amma about to eat that UP!”

If you‘ve seen it I know you know. If you haven’t seen it, let me give you a little taste of the films flavour...

A story about a married couple of loved up D’s, David and Diana Murphy played by Woody Harrelson and Demi Moore. High school sweethearts whose young love turns into a long lasting partnership, sure they have their differences but who cares when they make each others pants ignite? You feel how pure and amazing their love is, its almost sickening actually. Sickeningly amazing, am I right? (you can agree with me later, its cool). As well as being obsessed with each other, David works as an architect and Diana works in real estate, the two are very capable people but money isnt something they have at their finger tips. Which is why when they take out a loan to build David’s house, the s**t hits the fan so to speak. Now as with all great movies there’s nothing better than a little conflict to butter our parsnips as viewers, I’m talking about the fan-s**t, aka the recession. A recession hits and David and Diana end up falling behind on their loan repayments leaving them in a bit of a pickle, feeling down on their luck they take off to the bright lights of Vegas to turn it around. It‘s there they meet John Gage (Robert Redford) the sexy billionaire, whose charisma, power and money emanates unequivocally, I almost questioned my own sexuality (for 1 second.. if that). The buzz of winning fills the screen as Gage gives both D’s a taste of the rich life, this is of course before he proposes the question that will test the sanctity of marriage verses the love of money.

“1 million dollars for one night with your wife.”

“A lifetime of security, for one night.”

Do they, dont they? I guess you’ll have to find out.

My movie think tank..

Would you do it? Do you think love alone is strong enough to survive the black cloud of jealousy or would it eat you up inside? There‘s a strong message in this film that I think people forget to practice in many aspects of their life, whether it be with their family, friends or relationships. Forgiveness, I hope you take it away with you.

Now its time to flip the switch, the Demi switch.

My recommendation off the back of Indecent Propasal is another 90’s classic ‘Disclosure’. An erotic thriller starring Michael Douglas and of course Demi Moore, only this time she’s the villain. Get your wines out girls cause we’re in for a bumpy and dutty kind of night.

To lay it out this movie doesn’t involve an exchange of money, or agreements, it’s much worse, a person’s livelihood and reputation is on the line. Tom Sanders (Douglas) a production line manager, at a technology company, finds himself abit..fleeced when his former girlfriend, not only shows up at his work but is also promoted into what should have been his new position (ouch) of running the CD-ROM division.

Introducing Meridith Johnson (Demi Moore), Meredith is a sultry, arrogant, powerful woman (oh how the tables have turned) who clearly has some unfinished business with Tom. A meeting, a bottle of wine, a shoulder rub, Tom finds himself in some deep s**t as Meredith sexually forces herself onto him but Tom’s a family man and resists her advances (respect Tommy boy!). Tom heads into work the next morning to find himself accused of sexual harassment.

Huh? (Image - Metacritic)

Ohhh the suspense of it all..

Tom is backed into a scandalous corner being offered merely scraps for justice, until he decides to seek legal advice and fight Meridiths false claim. Will he win or will he lose everything?

”Sexual harassment isn’t about sex, it’s about power.”

My movie think tank..

The film highlights a pretty regular but unfair situation most women find or have found themselves in at work, what Disclosure highlights is that indecent acts can too happen to men. The plot is a polished take on gender discrimination that boils down to power and not your sex.

movie review
2

About the Creator

Jodie Knowles

My names Jodie Knowles. Every morning I wake up and write out 3 pages of whatever comes to my head. Doing this brings me peace, it’s my ritual, a place where I explore the ideas that come to me and from there I create.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.