Humans logo

Twine Corset

Stitched Into Happiness

By Kelsey KayPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
3
"One of my favorites"

Fall was drifting in and it was time to restock the horses’ hay. I watched as my mom and my brothers grabbed the knots of bailing twine tied around each bail of hay, then hurled the bundles into the barn’s loft. The horses really did love eating that hay and they were kept happy in their barn and pasture.

I would often go to the barn with my mom to feed the horses. Climbing up the ladder to the loft seemed like an adventure and a small accomplishment for me. I would happily fling a few pieces down next to the water trough, and drop a few more down through the hole in the loft’s floor so they landed in the horses’ stalls. The twine that had held the hay bails together collected on a post in the barn as each bail was fed to the horses, and dangling together, they accumulated for no apparent reason.

One day, I asked my mom what she thought I could use for my newest sewing project, which was to be created using recycled materials. Some time later she returned with a bunch of the leftover bailing twine and some old horse blankets. Inspired, I decided to make a corset using the blankets as a base and then decorate the panels with the bailing twine hand stitched onto them. Each strand of twine had been broken or slightly untwisted after being used to hold the bails of hay together, and needed to be dealt with individually. Bits and pieces of twine got all over me as I tediously re-twisted and trimmed, molding each strand of twine into a neat form, ready to be sewn down. All this work definitely improved the look of the strands. I would continue to work on creating this corset late into the early mornings, and would often be trimming away when my older sister got home from clubbing with her friends. I would take a break from my project to hang out with them as they started the after-party bonfire near the barn. I realized that as much as they enjoyed clubbing, I enjoyed working on my current project. Lots of different things can bring happiness into your life.

I grew up with those horses in my back yard. It was a very different lifestyle than the one I live now. I treasure the photos of me with my horses, especially this one wearing the corset I made for myself using materials which were originally theirs. I remember the bite of the crisp cold day as my mom took pictures of us together, Teak with his fluffy and warm winter coat, and me in my newly-made corset with snow on my shoes.

My mother was creative, innovative, and always resourceful. I would never have looked at the twine from the barn as material for a sewing project! I thank Mom for her always enthusiastic support of my creations. It’s great to reuse, reduce, and recycle and to give new life to items that would otherwise be rotting in a landfill.

This project planted a seed of confidence in me that I still have to this day. Completing an entry for a recycle redesign competition felt like a great accomplishment in itself - and then my entry won! That solidified my decision to make my craft into my career and move from St. Charles, Illinois all the way to California to go to college for Fashion and Costume Design. I look back at my drive that I had poured into this project, and all my passion for a successful future. It reinforces to me that dedication and hard work really does pay off. And, it is possible to do what you truly love doing in life.

This twine corset brings me joy because it has captured a time in my life that I will never forget. My Twine Corset makes me happy every time I see it. It is a constant reminder of a project that made me happy, and that continues to shape a bit of happiness in my life to this day.

diy
3

About the Creator

Kelsey Kay

Kelsey Kay is a Fashion Designer. Currently, she is living in Las Vegas building up her own clothing line. Sunlight Lover is creating bohemian inspired resort wear for chic women; colorful, comfortable and creative.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.