Humans logo

Turn around gracefully when you leave

Turn around gracefully when you leave

By Berard JacksonPublished 2 years ago 5 min read
Like

After graduating from college, I got a job in a trading company. As a newcomer, I had a lot to learn, so I was busy every day. I had no time to care about others except to focus on my work.

But half a year after I came to the company, my eyes were attracted by something other than work for the first time -- Sister Dong, who had led me to resign.

Maybe there was some problem in cooperation with the boss, and she didn't communicate and solve it in time, so she resigned in anger. To say all in a unit to find food to eat, see colleagues leave, everyone is a bit "rabbit dead fox sad", but Dong's elder sister before leaving the act has turned this kind of sadness into harm.

When she left her job, she took it out on herself and erased all the documents, contracts, and plans, leaving her successor with an empty, reformatted computer.

Sister Dong was in a bad mood. Before she left, she took out her anger on the company property that she could not take with her. She also said to those who came after her, "Don't work here too, and you will end up like me."

Because she had taken me, the leader asked me to tell her that her transfer formalities had not been completed, please come again.

I called her and politely asked her to come over, but she angrily told me, "Tell him to let him die." I was holding the phone dumbfounded.

Sister Dong's walk, let me see what is called hate women - hate women in the workplace.

Fast forward three years, and I have grown from a young graduate without any work experience to skilled senior staff. To have a broader development space, I decided to job-hop. Through online recruitment, a powerful company became my new employer.

From the moment I was offered the job, I quietly began to prepare to quit. Because Sister Dong's walk gave me a big touch, I hope I can have a graceful turn.

Thinking of myself just out of school into this company to get exercise, my heart is full of gratitude to the leadership, and the company. That night, I wrote a thank-you letter full of gratitude to my boss, colleagues, and team.

The next day, I will resign and thank you letter to the boss: "here, I not only improve my business ability but also learned a lot of life truth. I have to leave now, but I hope I can read my thank-you note at the regular meeting before I leave..."

That day, based on my three years of careful observation, I put forward some opinions and suggestions to the company given the specific situation.

Old TOTAL SIDE LISTEN TO SIDE NOD: "THE PERSON THAT A SEEK ANOTHER EMPLOYMENT BEFORE LEAVING RETURN TO THE COMPANY SO UPPER HEART, RARE."

The company requires three months 'notice for employees to quit so they can train replacements. To reduce the loss that resignation may bring to the company, I began to focus on training a replacement employee as assigned by the boss. In a short period of one month, she could replace my daily work.

As I was young and naive when I first graduated, I felt the need to reconcile these old grudges as I was about to leave town.

I picked a time when everyone was not too busy. I went to a few colleagues and said sincerely, "I was very naive and impulsive when I came out of school. I made a lot of mistakes. When my colleagues saw me say this, they all laughed: Who can't make some mistakes?

As the day of leaving drew near, I came early and left late, wanting to stand the last guard. According to the company's regulations, I can't leave until three months after I submit my resignation application. However, because I have trained a successor in advance and taken care of my work in good order, the leader approved me to leave early.

At this time, the "new owner" call me: when reporting for duty, please be sure to bring the identification of the former union leader. Boss heard that very cooperate, identify every word is my praise.

According to my agreement with the boss, in the regular meeting on Friday, the boss will announce my resignation, and at the same time, I will read out the thank you letter.

My resignation took everyone by surprise, but my thank-you letter made everyone feel warm so when I read the letter, I was interrupted by warm applause several times.

The boss made an exception and announced at the meeting: "Thanks to Xiao Ai for his contribution to the company in recent years. The company dinner this month has been advanced to this afternoon after work, which is a farewell dinner for Xiao Ai."

After the meal, I gave everyone a bow, which was a formal farewell. Not long after I left, I received a text message from my colleague: "Ai, we all agree that the way you turned away was very graceful!"

Career Inspiration:

When leaving office, someone is out dissatisfaction, like to reveal the company's short, bad people even slander, say bad words of the old club. But according to the editor's observation, the more high-end the position is, the smaller the circle, and there are only a few available positions. As a professional, you don't have to be so reckless when you leave.

Leaving is to say goodbye to the old job, but also the starting point of a new life. Don't assume that leaving means you're done with your company, job, or colleagues. There's no need for etiquette. The attitude of leaving the job is elegant enough, reflecting a person's professional quality and integrity, and has a great impact on the shaping of professional image and the consolidation of interpersonal relations.

The mountain does not turn, after leaving with the former boss, old colleagues and then transfer together is often the case -- at present, there are many examples of "back grass" in the workplace, if you handle this link in the resignation, the resignation of the performance of a little professional, elegant, maybe for the future career development.

art
Like

About the Creator

Berard Jackson

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.