Humans logo

Torn Between Two

A Story About Physical and Mental Abuse (Reader Discretion Advised)

By Gabi DennerleinPublished 5 years ago 24 min read
Like

It was the middle of the football season and the Flywood Seagulls were four to one. The score was 29-28 and the Seagulls were losing to the Retrievers in the fourth quarter. So far the game had been very engaging for everyone watching, so much so that people were literally on the edge of their seats and biting their nails. The Retrievers had the ball and it was third down and four yards to go with 26 seconds left in the game. The ball was snapped and the next couple of moments went in slow motion. The Seagulls’ quarterback intercepted the ball and ran 68 yards down the field to score a touchdown. The crowd went wild, salty popcorn was thrown in the air and landed in people’s hair, the high school student section began their cheers with the risers shaking with every stomp, and the school band started playing their victory song. The game was over and everyone was ecstatic. Juniper was winding herself through the maze of high school students taking their victory pictures. She was searching for her ride and when suddenly she was knocked over by a very tall guy in a Seagulls jersey. “Hey! Watch it!” She said as she struggled to collect herself to stand up.

“Oh man I’m so sorry! Here let me help you,” the jersey boy turned around to grab Juniper’s hand and when she was on her feet again he just stopped and stared.

“Is there something on my face? Is my makeup messed up? Oh my god! Watch where you’re going next time, you could’ve really ruined my outfit!”

“I’m sorry, hun. It won’t happen again, but you really fell for me.” As he said that he gave a tiny wink and wiped her face with his thumb. Something about what he said and did made Juniper’s heart jump.

“Hey, I never got your name, jersey boy,” she said with a sly smile.

“The name’s Leyton, Leyton Elling. You know, only the best quarterback in the history of quarterbacks ever.” He began flexing his muscles and making poses. It made Juniper laugh.

“Well I’m Juniper, only the clumsiest of clumsy ever.” They both laughed and walked towards the exit of the stadium.

“Could I, by any chance get your number? It’s a long shot but I think you’re really beautiful and, clumsy or not, I’d like to take you out some time.” Leyton looked and sounded very nervous as he asked. You would think as popular as this guy is he would be pretty confident in himself asking out some attractive girl, but Juniper gave in.

“Yes of course, as long as it doesn’t include me falling.” The two laughed as they exchanged contact info. They both hugged and headed opposite ways to leave. As Juniper drove home that night she replayed the whole interaction only a million times over in her head. She felt as though it was the beginning of a perfect fairytale story. She fell asleep with a giant smile spread across her face and was so happy with how tonight had ended.

===========

When Fayre showed up to school on Friday morning, the entire student body was bustling with excitement. She figured it was yet another win for the Flywood Seagulls, but she didn’t exactly care. She was busy at the school library reading another article on the study of Saturn’s moons last night. She stayed at the school for so long that she lost track of time and only realized how late it was when the janitor showed up for his nightly clean at 8:15 PM. He kindly but sternly kicked her out and, with an apology, she left. Fayre fell asleep with her article fallen on her face, yet another day with her nose literally stuck in a book. Fayre headed to the school library after she twisted herself through the different friend groups in the school’s main entrance. When she got to the library she realized how late she was today. “Shoot, 7:49. I thought I was earlier than that,” Fayre said under her breath as she grabbed a book from the science section. She headed over to the book check-out and didn’t even have to type in her student code because the librarian already memorized it with how much she comes in. “Thanks Ms. Harper, I always appreciate you!” Ms. Harper nodded her head and continued to scroll through her endless emails. Fayre always liked the librarian even if she wasn’t the happiest of people, she was the only “friend” Fayre really had.

She walked to the door of the library and grasped the cold metal handle, turned it down and, looking down at her book, ran straight into a tall muscular, and very attractive, student. Her belongings went flying, her new book slid across the floor, her notebooks strewn about and a couple of pencils and pens fell to the floor with some clanking. Somehow, this boy still seemed in tact and didn’t seem fazed at all. Fayre bent down to pick up her supplies with an exasperating sputter of jumbled words. “Watch where you’re going next time, okay? I get that you’re a tall person and probably don’t notice short people that much but be a little more present next time.” She was rolling her eyes as she just saw him standing there watching her struggle to yet again organize the things in her arms as they were to begin with.

“I’m sorry ma’am, I really wasn’t paying attention. My brain was completely occupied with homework and sports, you know?” He spoke with such a nervous and anxious tone that Fayre thought he was about to cry. Also, the way he talked to her seemed like he thought she was a teacher or some sort of authority.

“No, you’re fine, I understand.” She looked up and realized she recognized his face. “Hey you’re the star player of our school, Leyton, right?”

Fayre may not know what school spirit activities are taking place at any moment or when popular topics like Homecoming are happening but she for sure knows who Leyton Elling is. She felt her cheeks become burning hot and her words become jabber, “Oh. Oh! Oh, I’m so sorry, I’ll get out of your way. I am so sorry. God I’m sorry, are you okay? Do you need me to kis- I mean hug- No, do you need me to do anything for this inconvenience? I’m really sorry I was in your way!”

“Hey chill it’s okay. I don’t mind. But I wouldn’t want to pass up on a kiss from someone as cute as you, what’s your name hun?” Suddenly the seemingness of authority on Fayre’s part slipped away and he saw her as another student. He smirked and as he lifted the right corner of his mouth, Fayre noticed a little dimple. Cute, she thought.

“Uhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh,” just like that Fayre had her first flirty interaction with a boy. She had no clue what to say or what to do with her body. Do I lean on a counter and act smooth? Do I just answer him with my name, wink, and walk away? Oh my God, Leyton just flirted with me, what do I do?

“Hey?” He was waving his hands in front of her face, “Uhhh hello? You have a little, ummm, a little drool coming out of your mouth.”

“Huh? Omg sorry, again!” She wiped the side of her mouth with her free sleeve and noticed her hand was shaking. “My name is Fayre, like a circus fair or a science fair. Just spelled differently,”

“Well, Fayre,” he winked as he said her name, “I apologize for bumping into you but I’d do it again. You’re cute. Could I get your number?” He already had the contact book on his phone open to a new slot for her information.

“Yeah of cour-” the morning bell for their first class rang with a loud vibrating noise, cutting off Fayre’s words. Fayre was one of those students that likes to be in her class before even the first bell rings so, to her, she’s late. “Look Leyton, I have to get to class.” She began to walk away, but realized she’d never have this chance again. “Okay give me your phone.” She clumsily typed in her name and number and handed him the phone back. He looked a little confused but she was too rushed to see what he would do next. She sat down in her first class, same seat every morning, and replayed the interaction over and over in her head because she wanted to live it over and over again. The actual Leyton Elling flirted with me, asked me for my number, winked at me. EEEEEEEEK! This is surreal, am I even alive after that? Her thoughts went on and on all day that she flowed through the day so quickly she was surprised when she heard the last bell.

===========

“Juniper Barrs? Juniper Barrs! Wake up angel, I have someone waiting at the door for you.”

“Ughhhh momm, who is it? I’m not exactly fit for someone to see me right now,” Juniper said in a groggy voice. She rolled over in her pink princess sheets and strained her eyes to see the time on her princess crown clock. 12:09 PM. OMG 12:09 already??? Juniper hopped out of bed and really quickly changed out of her pajamas. She brushed her teeth and very quickly threw her hair up in a messy ponytail, her signature hairstyle. Juniper checked herself in the mirror to make sure she didn’t need anything else, but of course she didn’t, not even makeup could make her look any more beautiful. As she hopped down each step to the main floor, she heard a very deep voice making her mom laugh and realized she recognized the tall shadow in the door frame. “Leyton? What the heck are you doing here?”

“Just thought I could stop by and pick you up for our date that you promised me.” Leyton handed Juniper a giant bouquet of rainbow array of roses.

“Ummm excuse us please, mom.” Juniper stepped outside behind Leyton and stopped on her front porch, “What th- How did yo- Why wou- WHAT? What the heck is going on here Leyton? How did you get my address? Are you stalking me?”

“No no no no.” Leyton waved his hands in denial, “You got this all wrong, don’t worry about anything, babe. Just hop in my car. I have our first date planned already.”

“Look, Leyton,” Juniper was hesitant. The arrangement of flowers smelled so good to her, his yellow Lamborghini engine was rumbling with race car-like vibes, and Leyton was dressed so dashingly. How could I pass this up? I’d be such a jerk too.

“Okay, just give me five more minutes and I’ll be in that car with you.” Juniper ran back inside, lazily put on a nice shirt and skirt, and hopped in Leyton’s car. He revved his engine and zoomed down the street. The top was down and the wind was blowing through Juniper’s hair making her look like a fashion model on the runway. They drove all around town, stopping at each store that Juniper wanted to look at. They got ice cream at the dairy shop, succulents at the plant shop, and hung out with puppies at the dog shelter. Everything they did that day, Leyton covered the cost for. The sun began to set with fiery red and orange shades in the clouds as the two sat at the top of a hill overlooking their colorful city.

“Wow Leyton, this is date was everything I could’ve asked for and more. How’d you do it? How’d you manage to make me so happy having only spent not even half a day with me?”

“Well, you know, they don’t call me Lyrical Leyton for nothing.” Leyton winked.

“What? What is that even supposed to mean? Nobody calls you that, I would know.” Juniper started laughing and fell on her back as she continued to giggle until she cried.

“Whaaaaat? Okay, you’re right that was a lie. No one calls me that, but I’m just trying to get you to like me more.”

“God, Leyton. You’ve done enough to make me swoon over you, you don’t need to do anymore.” She began giggling again, then her voice turned serious. “Hey, I really like you and I’m not one to make the first move but I’m feeling really confident right now. So Leyton, would you like to be my boyfriend?” Juniper extended the end of the last word as if anticipating the worst.

“Of course!” Leyton said it almost as if he saw it coming, as if it was his plan all along to have her ask him. Nonetheless, Juniper became giddy and jumped with joy. They got back in his car, Juniper with a grin stretching ear to ear and Leyton with a sly and sneaky smile, and headed back home. They hugged goodbye and texted all night.

===========

“Yup, just as I thought, trash.” Fayre sighed as she threw her phone across her bed. “I gave him my number on Friday and he doesn’t even have the decency to at least say 'hi,' it’s already Sunday. I give up.” She flopped on her bed and buried her face into her pillow. She screamed into it as loud as she could but knew that it would only sound muffled.

“Honey? Are you okay?” Her mom called from the downstairs kitchen.

“Yeah, mom, I’m fine. Just getting my frustrations out in my pillow.” She decided next time she screamed in her pillow she would do it with her door closed. Buzzzzzz buzzzz. Fayre’s phone lit up with a text from a random number. That’s weird, I don’t recognize the area code either. She slid her lock screen to open the text. "Yesterday was so fun! Totally would love to do it again with you. How about after school tomorrow?"

“Ughhhhh another booty call. That poor girl.”

"Hey sorry I think you have the wrong number! Hope you get it figured out :)" She thought the smiley face would add a lightheartedness to it. She locked her phone and thought nothing of it. Buzzzz buzzzz. Her phone went off again, the same number. Fayre? I don’t remember texting you. Ohhhh! Gosh that was meant for my ummm friend, yeah. Sorry! But hey, you at least have my number now. How have you been? This is Leyton by the way. It was Leyton. The booty call was from Leyton. She couldn’t understand why but it made her so angry. Also, she had a hard time believing that this text was meant for just a friend, but she followed along anyways. Oh hey Leyton! Not a problem, I’m glad you finally figured it out. I’m doing fine thanks, how are you? Almost immediately he answered, I’m doing good as well. You want to come over soon? The text caught her off guard, but again Leyton was very popular and she couldn’t risk being talked badly about. Yeah sure, how soon is soon? They texted back and forth until they figured out that she would come over that night. She would sneak out of the house when her mom was in the shower and walk over to his house, which was ironically one street over.

Fayre grabbed her pink fluffy winter coat off of her coat hanger in front of the door. She waited until she heard the shower water start to run and when she did, she carefully grabbed the front door handle and turned it ever so slightly, just enough to where the door would open. As she walked out, her legs braced the cold. Yeah I grabbed a winter coat but I’m wearing my pajama shorts. Oh well, it’s what Leyton wanted me to wear. She walked down her cul-de-sac to the end of the street where the only street light was flickering. She turned to the left and as she did, she was hit with a freezing cold gust of wind to the face. As she walked down the sidewalk it was eerily quiet other than the whistles of the wind. She approached Leyton’s street, Kingman Road. For some reason that fits him. Up until then, her head was down and looking at the sidewalk, after she read the sign, she couldn’t let her head fall again. How come a street over from mine looks like a world over. This place looks so up kept and welcoming.

Each house on the street was decorated with orange and purple lights, giant stringy spider webs, and blow-up witches in the lawns. How come I have never known about this? Fayre felt her phone vibrate. She took it out of her coat pocket. "My house is the one at the very end of the street, top of the circle. The one with the giant sign that says ‘Happy Halloween’ I’ll be waiting."

As Fayre walked up the street to Leyton’s house, she felt her stomach do a somersault. Reality hit her. Am I really doing this for him? I mean, I guess it’s okay. What’s the worst that could happen? I’ll be fine. She walked up the steps to his front door. Although all house styles were the same in Flywood, his seemed like it was made to look richer.

“Hey hottie.” Leyton walked out of the front door and embraced Fayre with a warm and welcoming hug.

“Oh, hi.” Fayre wasn’t prepared for the hug and awkwardly stood there as he squeezed her tight.

“You look so cold! Come inside, it’s really warm and we have the fire going.” Leyton ended the hug but kept a hand on her lower back.

“Wow, Leyton, your house looks really nice.” Fayre looked up and around the front hallway. A chandelier hung inside the front door, to her right was a tan carpeted family room with a giant TV and a warm fireplace, to her left was the kitchen that looked made for a chef.

“Here, let me help you with that.” Leyton slowly took Fayre’s jacket off and hung it up by the door. He let her slip her shoes off but still didn’t take a hand off of her. “Let’s go upstairs, I have something to show you.” He made Fayre go up first, staying close behind her. She wasn’t used to a guy always being so touchy with her and felt a little uncomfortable with it all, but let it happen. As they got to the top, a blue hue was shining from behind a big white door. “That’s my room, go ahead and go in it. You can chill on the bed and I’ll be right in.”

“Ummm, okay.” Fayre pushed open the door and was met by a king sized bed with black sheets. There was very soft and calming music going on in the corner that was radiating out. On a shelf to her right was where the blue ocean color was coming from, it was a salt rock that was slowly pulsating in and out of the color. She looked at the bed and looked at the door. I could just run now. Or I could stay. She lied down on on his bed and didn’t know what to do. After what felt like eternity, Leyton returned. His shirt was off and his sly smile was spread across his face. “Leyton, I’m not sure I feel comfortable.”

“I can make you feel more comfortable.” He said that in a deep voice as his hand slid up her leg. “Come on, I know what I can do.” At first Fayre was just going to let it happen, but something came over her.

“No, please don't,” sternly and quickly, the words came out of her mouth. The look that overcame Leyton’s face was one Fayre would never forget. In a matter of seconds he was on top of her. He began swinging left and right on her face, sides, and stomach as hard as he could. At any chance she had, Fayre tried fighting back but it only seemed to make Leyton more angry. She couldn’t open her eyes. She heard the front door open and a voice call his name. All at once, he got himself off of her and stood her up.

“Hey you have to get out of here, my parents are home.” He sounded worried. Fayre couldn’t stop the tears from flowing down her face. Everything hurt. “Hey shhhhh I’m sorry, I didn’t mean it. You just made me so mad, don’t do that again. Here, hop out the window. You’ll end up in the yard behind me and it’ll be a shortcut to your house. Text me okay?”

“Okay,” Leyton ran his thumb down her face and wiped a tear. He helped her down the window and showed her the way to her house.

“Tomorrow. We’ll talk tomorrow and everything will be good.”

===========

Everyday with Leyton, Juniper felt like she was on top of the world. He bought her the most extravagant gifts, sent her the cutest “good morning” and “goodnight” texts, and took her on unforgettable dates. She never wanted the fun to cease but she knew that all good things must come to an end. One day when Leyton slept over at her house, Juniper woke up to a string of texts on his phone. It seemed like this person was really worried and needed to talk to him. At first, she was going to wake him up but then she read the name and next to this person’s name was a little heart. She was infuriated. He’s cheating on me?! What the heck? I have been nothing but good to him! I need to find out what’s going on, this is not okay.

===========

Over at Fayre’s house, she had been texting Leyton all night. She knew he said he was busy with personal stuff and that he would text her when he fell asleep but it was already morning and he hadn’t even read a single text. Tears were streaming down her face. She winced in pain as some of the saltier ones stung the cuts on her cheeks. Fayre had locked herself in her room as much as she could since she started dating Leyton. He had punched her like she was a punching bag and he was training for a fight. She had bruises up and down her spine, it felt like a million needles when she tried moving even the slightest bit. When her mom tried talking to her she would only go as far as speaking through the door. Fayre was completely cut off from everyone in her life. No one meant more to her than Leyton and he was the only person she had left, but now she had no one and she didn’t know what to do.

===========

Leyton had the address of this girl named “Fayre” in his phone and Juniper took that as a chance to find out what was going on. She took to turning his phone on “do not disturb” because whoever this was would not stop texting. “Two miles” is what the map said. Easy enough, looks like she lives pretty close to Leyton. She hopped in her car and sped over to the house. The street she turned on seemed dead and vacant. None of the houses were decorated and they all had the same sad front porch. She pulled into the driveway, walked up to the door, and knocked. An older woman answered.

“Hi there sweetheart! What can I do for you?”

“Ummm, does…” Juniper looked down at the contact information. Fayre like a science fair. “Does Fayre live here?”

“Oh yes she does, not sure she’s in the mood for visitors though. She’s locked in her room and I haven’t been able to talk to her for the past couple of weeks. Could I take a message for her?”

“Actually, no. I’d like to speak to her myself,” Juniper decided it was best to assert herself in this situation. She watched as the woman pointed up the stairs with an old shaky finger.

“Go up, straight down the hall, last door on the right. Good luck.”

“Thanks,” she felt a shiver run down her spine. When she made it to the bedroom, she heard a girl crying like there was no tomorrow. She knocked.

“Oh hey mom! I’m fine.” She heard the girl say.

Juniper cleared her throat, “Hi this actually isn’t your mom. Could I come in?” Much to her surprise, she let her in. “Are you Fayre?”

“Yes, and you are?”

“Juniper.” She said. She looked up and down this girl’s body. Bruises, cuts, and scabs, she looked as if she hadn’t eaten in a while. “What happened?”

“Oh I just fell off my bike a couple of times.” Fayre’s voice sounded quiet and thin.

“Leyton.” Juniper said angrily and sharp, “you’re dating Leyton too, aren’t you?” The question wasn’t supposed to sound threatening but more of an understanding tone.

“Yes, I am dating Leyton. I’m assuming you are as well?”

“Oh my gosh. I’m speechless.” Juniper didn’t know what to say. She wasn’t about to blame Fayre because she figured the physical wounds were a result from Leyton.

“I’m so sorry, I didn’t mean to start dating Leyton. He didn’t ever mention he was already with someone else,” Fayre’s voice was shaky as her eyes became flooded with tears again.

“Oh, Fayre. You don’t need to apologize at all, none of this is your fault. I didn’t realize what he was putting someone else through while I was having the time of my life with him. I am so sorry. Come here,” Juniper pulls Fayre into a hug, making sure to be careful with her abrasions.

“I should have totally avoided him, he was the biggest mistake I’ve ever made in my life.” Fayre was hiccuping in between every other word. They discussed what was going on in each other’s relationship with Leyton for a good hour.

“Fayre, none of this was your fault, seriously. I’m glad we’re talking about this, I’m glad you’re getting this out because I know that he’s cut you off from everyone.”

“Yeah, I haven’t been able to talk to a single person because I feel like if I try it’ll be passed off as untrue or irrelevant because of popularity or people won’t care and not listen to me so I appreciate you actually taking your time to talk. Also you are gorgeous I just wanted to say that.”

“Oh my gosh thank you! But seriously, you are really pretty too. It’s already been an hour since I left my house and I left Leyton there, he’s probably awake by now. I think we should go together and confront him.” Juniper got up to leave and then turned back to Fayre, “Hey, after we’re done let’s go get something to eat and hang out, is that okay with you?”

===========

Fayre sat there for a minute contemplating whether she should go with Juniper and if she felt the strength to confront Leyton but she decided it best to do it, she also liked the idea of hanging out with Juniper after. “Yeah let’s go.” Juniper and Fayre got in the car and drove over to Juniper’s house to talk to Leyton. When they both walked into the house and Leyton saw the two of them he was overcome with confusion and anger. He immediately started asking what was going on.

“Is this some sort of practical joke? You guys are serious? Both of you are here, and what? What are you going to do?” He sounded snarky.

“Look, Leyton.” Juniper started, “the stuff you put this girl through, the things you did to her and said to her, was totally unacceptable and such a jerk move. What would even make you think it’s okay to ever do that to a girl?” Fayre began tearing up but sucked it up because she wanted to look confident in front of the person who made her feel the least. Juniper yelled at Leyton for 15 minutes and kicked him out. She told him to never talk to either of us again and that if she ever heard from him doing something again that she would make sure he regretted it.

Once Leyton was long gone, Juniper and Fayre went out to get burgers at their local popular fast food restaurant. They laughed and talked about their lives. The two grew really close, closer than anyone had ever been to Fayre. She had never had a true friend, someone to lean on, someone to cry with, someone to be real with, but Juniper became that someone. They went through the rest of high school together with the other always by their side. Leyton was the best mistake they both made, he created a forever friendship for the two of them.

literature
Like

About the Creator

Gabi Dennerlein

Hi, I'm Gabi! Welcome to my profile :) I’m an aspiring story and poem writer who puts her experiences and thoughts down for people to read and understand what isn’t usually talked about. Enjoy and drop a tip while you’re at it ;)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.