Humans logo

There Is Nothing Like A Long Drive Alone

Your car. Your rules. Your vibes.

By Norma JanePublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like

On a daily, I take an Uber back and forth to campus. Although, it would be better if I had my car. Still, I make the most of what I can afford now. Uber drives are fairly enjoyable, especially with drivers who follow these characteristics if you have social anxiety, are an introvert, or prefer a peaceful drive: doesn't talk at all and understands the instructions. When drivers don't speak aside from "Hello" and "Enjoy your day", I can live in my head for the moment as my favorite song plays in the background from my headphone speakers. The only downside is that I have to keep the volume significantly low if the driver has inquiries about the dropoff location or takes a detour. When the Uber driver understands the assignment, it makes the drive ten times enjoyable.

The other upside is that although I seriously cannot wait until I have my license and my first ever beauty ride, I love being a passenger. While it is always practical to have two sets of eyes on the road when two or more folks are in a moving vehicle, I don't have to pay attention too much. This means I can enjoy the vibrations as the car races past others and never mind the wind blowing in my face or the sun glossing my brown eyes. I love focusing on the scenery blurring past instead of the timing between stop signs, speed limits, express lane openings, and highway exits. On the other hand, having your own car is the best. Not every Uber driver has the cleanest car, and some have weird smells that are difficult to tolerate. Then there are those encounters where your Uber driver initiates conversation, ignores the hint in your irritated one-word answers, and continues to talk like you and them are best friends.

Another downside (this point pertains to Uber, being a friends', parents', or siblings' car) is the music they play. Some people don't mind the radio. I stopped listening to the radio in 2013 because they play the same songs over and over. I love all the hits, but some radio stations still play "Down" by Jay Sean, and that song was overplayed despite being a childhood tune. That song came out in 2009 when Nickelodeon and Disney practically raised me. By yourself behind the wheel, there's no one to judge your taste. You can listen to Taylor Swift, Bon Jovi, Prince, Cardi B, Elvis, Elton John, and Ariana Grande without the judgemental stares. You can sing as loud and off-key as you want. But you'll always miss the shared laughs when a throwback song slithers its way to the top of your shuffle play.

Aside from the superficial (but understandable) pet peeves of being a passenger, there are more pros to driving alone anywhere. The first thing I'll do in my car when I get that chance is find a long empty road and go until I've run through my favorite playlist. I have a million playlists with at least 17 to 25 songs on them, each serving its purpose for a particular mood. So, the drive won't be ridiculously long.

Here's why long drives alone are what you want.

Breaking Your Comfort Zone

Traveling alone on the first go-around questions your confidence. There are so many routes, but only a few are the best to get where you want to go (if you have a destination). Then, especially traveling at night, there is the fear of the nightcrawlers and the unwanted creepy encounters. Down the list are possible chances of leaving something you need behind, ensuring that contacting emergency assistance is always accessible, and the annoying cycles of taking wrong turns after another until you finally understand the roads. The truth is these experiences force you out of your comfort zone. You are forced to travel smarter and always equip yourself for any bumps in the road (metaphorical or literal). What is best about the end of all those trials and errors is that you can leave that road with newfound confidence. You'll even go for another round, this time better prepared with what you know now to heighten the pros out of your experience.

Getting to Know Yourself.

Long drives with no particular destination are definitely therapeutic. Your mind comes to you with all its inspirations, ideas, memories, emotions, and maybe even solutions. It is also beneficial for getting away from immediate stresses for a while. Maybe home or your office is not the best place to figure things out. Maybe your family, kids, roommates, or significant other is too much to handle at the moment. Maybe you've been staring at a paper for six hours and haven't written a damn sentence. That's okay. We're human, are we not? Escapes and pleasures exist for a reason. However, positive ones like taking a long drive or walk, exercising, writing your thoughts in a journal, or cooking something that reminds you of your childhood meal are more constructive than toxic indulgences. However, too much of a good thing is just as bad. Don't let those drives turn you into a runaway. It's always best to swallow your pride and face your monsters head-on. After all, you will see that they are simply trees when the sun comes up.

travel
Like

About the Creator

Norma Jane

Instagram: @mayurwordsbearfruit

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.