Humans logo

The Weeping Willow

A little black book and a surprise

By Tanaya VangPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
The Weeping Willow
Photo by Annie Spratt on Unsplash

July 1, 2009

T-Pain is heard playing on the speaker system as Janette works tirelessly serving tables. She’s pulled another double so she can save up enough money to start her own branding business, but this penny pinching is putting her in a bind.

“Hi sweets!”

Janette hears that all too familiar voice. It’s Barb, her favorite (and regular) customer.

“Hey Mama Barb, how are you doing today?” She bends down to give Barb a hug.

“Oh, you know I can’t complain. God woke me up again, which means I got more work to do. How are you Sweets? Still working hard as ever, huh gal?” Barb smiled, showing her perfect teeth. Way too perfect for an 80-year-old.

“Yes ma’am. I’m doing okay, just a little tired. You know the deal. I’m actually getting off soon, so I won’t be able to wait on you today.”

“Hush that nonsense girl, I’m here to take you out.” Barb says with a wink.

“Excuse me? Take me out…where? Isn’t it past your bedtime?” Janette looks at her watch playfully.

“Now you know its old school night at the rink, and I promised to show you how to get down to some cuts. Now hurry up and get off so this old gal can show you up.”

Janette darts to the back of the restaurant to grab her things as they both head over to the roller rink.

***

“That was just the kind of person she was. She didn’t let her age stop her from doing anything. I remember when I first met her, I didn’t realize sarcasm was her chosen language. So, I always said she was my rudest customer, that is until I got to know her. 5 years I’d been waiting on her at the Tipsy Turvy Breakfast Bar. Every Saturday, she’d invite me over for tea and gossip. She’d share the latest news about who died, who got pregnant, and who was sleeping with who. I would share with her my dreams of opening up my own business and she’d always give me a word to encourage me.

Even if I could only stay for 30 minutes, she always made sure to feed me. She’d pack me 3 containers of food and she knew I lived alone. There was no way I could finish all of that!”

The crowd let out a knowing laugh.

“I just wish I could have spent at least one more day with her. But I know she lived her full life. I just wish…I just wish I could cry on her lap as she rubbed my head. Something my mother always did when I was little before she passed. Anyway, thank you Barb for being you all the time.”

Janette left the podium to take her seat in the crowd. As everyone sat and listened through more stories about how great Barb was, she realized how lucky she’d been to have her in her life.

“Janette?”

A woman interrupted her thoughts. Janette scanned the room realizing the memorial service was over, and she’d been left sitting at her seat.

“Janette Buchanan? You’re Janette Buchanan, right?”

“Oh, yes. Yes, that’s me. Can I help you?”

“Yes, I’m Lavern, Barb’s daughter. Um, I’m not sure how to say this but I need you to come with me to the reading of mom’s will.”

“I don’t understand.”

“Well, I got a call from our Attorney and they say they need you there. Apparently, you’re in the will as well.”

Janette looked confused but followed Lavern to the office where the family gathered.

“Great, we’re all here. Let’s get started.”

The attorney began reading off the things Barb left behind for her loved ones. Lavern got the house and money, her sons, granddaughters, and sisters were also given money.

How much money did this old hag have? Janette thought.

“To Janette Buchanan, I leave to you, this notebook. Please keep it safe in your care.”

Janette grabs the little black notebook that looks almost like new. It had a black strap that kept it closed. She held it close hoping it was a diary of hers.

Once Janette got home, she kicked off her heels, sat on the sofa and dug out this notebook she’d be gifted. There was only one thing written inside.

"What you are looking for is in the trees."

She flipped through the pages hoping to find more information, but they were blank.

“Even in her death she still knows how to play with my head. This woman…”

***

All week Janette had been searching for the hidden message she’d read in Barb’s notebook. She sat staring at the trees in the park, hoping she’d get something, but she didn’t. Suddenly, an idea struck her. She grabbed her bag and drove straight to Barb’s house. She realized no one was home after she peeked through the windows.

She then walked towards the backyard, unlatched the wooden fence, and trotted towards her favorite tree. It was a weeping willow that swayed perfectly in the wind. When the leaves settled, it cascaded a perfect shadow from the afternoon sun.

Janette propped up her favorite pillow and sat underneath the tree just as she used to. She listened to the birds singing, the squirrels playing tag, and then she saw it. She stumbled upon an envelope that is marked with her name written in Barb’s handwriting tucked inside of the base of the tree. Inside was $20,000 and a note that said,

"I bet you thought I only left you a notebook. Take this, and plan for the future we talked about. I believe in you, Sweets. Now, spread your wings. You’re ready."

Janette broke out in joyful and mournful tears. “You old hag. I can’t believe you did this.”

literature
Like

About the Creator

Tanaya Vang

Poet, writer, book enthusiast, Christ follower, total newb to anime #NarutoIsLife, and some-timey actress

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.