Humans logo

The Way That I See You

For BW

By Clare StrayerPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like

If only you could see yourself the way that I see you.

The way that your eyes crinkle and your cheeks crease into dimples when you smile super big. When you laugh so hard you don’t make a sound anymore, just a silent smile that I know you can barely contain. The way you walk as if no one notices you, but really I’m sure the whole room is staring.

Or at least they should be.

Your hair is so curly even you can’t control it some days. I know you wished it would flop over your eyes sometimes but it stands straight up, sticking out widely in different directions. I used to think I only liked guys with short, straight hair. I guess I was wrong. If you only you knew how much I love to run my hands through your hair while your lips are against mine.

It’s insane how talented you are.

You doubt every inch of your body but if you only knew what it really is capable of. I know. I’ve seen your fingers, dancing against the metal strings of your guitar like they are a couple in love, swaying back and forth to a beat you know like the back of your hand. Your hands move across a page and left in their wake is a melody, a sound that fills the white of the paper that was once there.

Everything you touch turns to gold.

Your touch is magic against any instrument, anything you decide you want to play. Your fingers play fire against my skin. The way you work your hands through my hair and down my back sends shivers tripping to my toes, curling them under themselves. Oh, my darling. If you only you knew.

How much I crave you.

I want to drink in your kiss like its the last drop of water on the earth. Your skin against mine sending fire to every inch, every corner of my body. I want to trip and fall into the ocean of your eyes. Even though you say you hate the color of them. I think they are the most beautiful things I have ever seen.

I hope you feel the same way that I do when we kiss.

The way that everything falls away and pools around my ankles like useless drops of water. The way that the darkness behind my eyes turns into stars and the stars turn into a galaxy full of planets and I’m spinning spinning spinning and I’m gasping for breath because I’m dizzy and I can’t get enough of your skin against mine so I breathe your breath filling my lungs with as much as I can of the beautiful sweet sweet air until I finally—

Sigh in relief.

You are like a breath of fresh air and when I go outside I can’t gulp enough of you. I wish that I could go outside more often. But I am trapped indoors. But then again so are you.

You are a stubborn ass but I love it.

You never give up on anything even if it's killing you. That’s how I know you'll never give up on me. You are so loyal and caring and kind and sweet and amazing and, wow, look at that I’m just making a list now. There is just too much that I can see to fit inside a book.

When the stars finally come out:

I know that you will be there with me. Sitting by my side, silent and strong. Your hands on my back, comforting me, protecting me, guiding me into a life I can imagine so clearly. I only wish you could only see it. The way that I see you.

art
Like

About the Creator

Clare Strayer

I just want to make the world feel something✨ Leave a gift if you like what you feel✨

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.