Humans logo

The Twilight Master

Sneak peak into the fantasy novel I’m working on

By teddybearnationPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
Like

Closing and locking the door of my office I stroll down the hall, waving goodbye to coworkers as I pass by offices and cubicles. I may just be a desk clerk for the boss, but after last years christmas fiasco, no one questions my exact position here, especially Bob.Every time his nose or back itches or hurts, he is going to think of me. How great it is to be remembered, but it’s not my fault he didn't turn on the self security building procedure like he was supposed to. No , not my fault at all. At least I don’t get called a imposter anymore. Everyone used to think that I got treated like a boss, rather than a secretary. Which in a way is true, but I am still technically a secretary. I walk down the hall to the elevator and go down to the main floor. Of course my office had to be at the top of a 5 story tall building. Cause the added two minutes is totally worth it. That’s two minutes out of my precious life, every day, multiple times. I can see my life flashing before my eyes already.

Passing the security check I walk to the door and stop in front of the guard in front of the door, Benjamin, or as us workers call him, Benji. He looks at me and smiles. “Well hello georgie, heading home?” I jokingly back away a step “Are you reading my mind?” He shakes his head and I can tell he’s cringing inside. I laugh and nod “Yeah, boss let me off early today, I have a job tonight and need to prepare.” Benji smiles but I can see the worry he tries to hide, the way his eyebrows twitch very slightly, his pointer finger of his left hand tapping against his leg. “You stay safe , don’t take unnecessary risks, stick to the objective, get home safe.” I salute benji in the inside worker way, fist to my heart thumb facing in. “Will do big guy, see ya later.” Returning the salute he opens the door for me and I step out into the golden hour of the day, the sun is about to go down. Turning left I begin the 20 minute walk home.

Plucking my phone out of my purse I open it up and check my social media’s and texts. I received a few taco memes from my sister, and the file link to the job from boss. I open the memes first of course, I mean who wouldn't, if there is one thing my sister has in common with me it's our meme quality. We only partake in the highest quality of memes. Despite our many sisterly arguments, my sister, Carmen , is the closest person to me. She knows almost everything about me. I send her a laughing emoji, then move onto to the bosses message and open the file.

literature
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.