Humans logo

The Tail of Three

Short Story

By Sean CheckleyPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
1

Chapter One

It was Millzy’s fifteenth birthday (or Zane as we call him now), and on Millzy’s birthday we would always set off on an adventure ever since we were kids. Three of us would head out and not be back until the sun had gone down. There was me Scotty, Millzy, and J.P. Millzy’s birthday is the 8th August, so the height of summer. This day in particular was a blazing hot day with no clouds in the sky. This day will forever change my life.

Page one

Chapter Two

The hot blazing sun was beating down on us as I packed me bag with food and water for the day ahead. Climbing over the wall into next doors garden, hoping i didn’t scuff me trusty white converse I banged on the back door making Millzy jump. The round spotty face of Millzy appeared with his long dark hair.

“Git” he said with a grunt

“Happy Birthday mate, you not not ready yet” I said hurrying him out the door.

“Slow down will ye, I’m goner throw up me breakfast.”

“Sorry its just J.P. is waiting at the old train line for us.

Heading up the steep bank of the old railway line our breathing became short and at the top was J.P.

Page two

Chapter Three

“Hey look who finally made it, Happy Birthday Millzy”he said towering above us with his blonde spiky hair.

“Thanks J.P.” slightly out of breath.

“Lets get lost in the jungle” looking over his shoulder.

Jungle was right, nature had definitely taken over with its over grown trees and wild flowers. Setting off into the jungle the sun soon glazed sweat over the three of us. Lost in our own enjoyment the hours seemed to pass us by, jumping in steams, eating sandwiches on the old railway bridge looking over farmland.

“Lads let’s take photo” I said pulling out me camera.

“Is that so you don’t forget us when you move away next week.” Millzy said sadly.

“Let’s do it like an album cover.”

Page Four

Chapter Four

“There’s an open field over there, let’s have a kick about.” J.P. pointed over the bushes.

Using our bags as goalposts we took it in turn to act out our favourite moments from the world cup in Japan.

“He lines it up… he shoots, he scores” I shouted running off to an imaginary corner.

The three of us dancing in a circle just like the Senegalese players did. Pausing to take on water and catch our breath back. The sun was lower in the sky casting golden light into the sky.

“We should start heading back before it gets too dark.”

“Yeah.” Millzy and J.P. said.

Getting up to leave I felt the ground give way under my feet and then …. total darkness.

Page Five

Chapter Five

Everything’s a haze and darkness surrounds me for what feels like hours. Then the world snapped back with and aching pain.

“SCOTTY”

“SCOTTY”

“Scotty mate are you okay” said J.P. with a shaky voice.

“Yep I’m okay” I said brushing off the dirt as I stood up.

Looking around from the light of the hole I had created, I could see that it was a tunnel. A well crafted tunnel.

“I think this used be one of the old mining tunnels, jump down and let’s explore it.”

“Cool come on Millzy sound like fun” J.P. said jumping down.

“Okay but not for long okay” Millzy said apprehensively.

“Get your torch out Millzy”.

With the light of the torch we set of into darkness.

Page six

Chapter Six

On our travels in the mine we came across old mine tools and great carvings all over the walls of the tunnel. After awhile of wondering and playing with the old tools we found a track and a cart.

“Ha ha, its just like out of Indiana Jones get in, I’ll push us along” J.P. said excitedly.

Lost in our own enjoyment of the ride, our voices of delight echoing around the tunnel as we went deeper into the mine. Faster and faster we went the louder we got.

BOOM!!!

The loudest bang from behind us stop us in our tracks. A cloud of dust drifted over make us all cough.

“I think the tunnels collapsed”

“How do we get out then” Millzy said.

Page seven

Chapter Seven

“No seriously how the fuck to we get out’er here”Millzy’s scared voice echoed around us.

“Ssh keep your voice down, we don’t want it falling on us” J.P. whispered nervously.

“Let’s just calm down and keep going along the tunnel and see if we can find away out.”

Scanning the mine with the only light we had, and finding nothing for hours. Hope of getting out was fading fast as was our patience.

“Fuck sake Millzy hold the light up higher” snapped J.P.

“I’m tired and hungry you hold it then” shot back Millzy thrusting the torch into J.P.’s hand.

“Dickhead”.

“Ssh you two is it me or can you smell fresh air” I said trying to see around us.

Page eight

Chapter Eight

“J.P. shine the torch around, and find were it’s coming from.”

After a minute or two the light fell on a structure that looked like it was heading above ground.

“It’s a lift to the top I think, come on” J.P. said excitedly running forward.

The air grew strong the closer we got. Looking up we could see the darkening sky above us.

“Do you think it still works then.” Millzy said looking at the old lift.

“Work I don’t think it even looks safe to use, let’s shout for help instead” I said.

“No the roof could collapse again” J.P. said stepping forward

Before me or Millzy could stop him he jump on to the lift, and for a second he was there in front of us then he was gone.

Page nine

That was the last we saw J.P. alive, soon after the lift fell down some locals heard the commotion and came running to see what had happened. The happy face on J.P.’s face will be with me forever.

literature
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.