Humans logo

The Sweet Indulgence That Is Human Contact

"...we need to be planning on never taking these seemingly small things for granted ever again."

By Lorah CatherinePublished 4 years ago 4 min read
Like
(Credit: canva.com)

Was there a time before lockdown when you had to give up something that you really loved for an extended period of time? I’m sure we’ve all tried some sort of restriction at some point or another, whether that be restricting sugar for a diet, restricting sleep because you’re studying for a critical exam, refraining from alcohol for a week…

How good was that first piece of sugary food after your diet, or that full 10 hours of sleep you got when you fell asleep before your head hit the pillow, or that first glass of wine out on the patio with friends? I bet it was almost worth the restriction for that moment of pure indulgence.

(Credit: canva.com)

The problem is that humans who have spent all this time and energy adapting to the “COVID way of life” over these past few months will eventually reintegrate into the world as we once knew it, and forget this feeling of sacrifice. We will, once again, take for granted that we can hug our friends, or go on dates, sit in a classroom, or go to the bar. Why? Because we are adaptive creatures, and we will once again adapt to our old ways.

I don’t intend to do that. I plan on making every second in this lockdown a growing process, and I refuse to have all this restriction be for nothing.

This is week 10 of my lockdown.

The pre-COVID world seems like a dream to me now. Just thinking of all the little things that I once took for granted causes my head to spin. I am beginning to understand how unsuccessful I had been at showing gratitude for even the smallest conveniences that I had been blessed with. Now that I have been placed under restriction literally to save lives, I find myself showing much more thanks for the smallest things, more than I ever have before.

I could ruminate on all the things I could have done, the trips I could have taken, the reasons I bailed on so many get-togethers or friendly drinks. I’d rather spend my time planning for the future, since, like when a dieter restricts sugar for a few weeks, the taste of freedom will be SO sweet.

Consider this instead: How GOOD will that first hug feel to you?

(Credit: canva.com)

The warm embrace of someone you love, having their arms wrapped tightly around your body. That feeling of security you get from placing your head on their shoulder. Even the faint smell of their perfume or cologne, the gentle skin-on-skin contact, the feeling of the material of their shirt against the side of your face…

How GOOD will hosting a barbeque feel?

(Credit: canva.com)

Your closest family, friends and neighbors over just to celebrate life. The smell of hamburgers, hot dogs, sausages, your neighbor's homemade pasta salad, your cousin’s cheesecake bites, your aunt’s homemade sauerkraut all in the air. The radiant energy around a dinner table as you all sit down together in the backyard to eat and laugh at stories you don’t even remember happening.

How GOOD will it be to look directly into the eyes of your friend, sitting right beside you?

(Credit: birdasaurus.tumblr.com)

Over that hot cup of coffee or tea, just listening to what they have to say, while paying close attention to the way their eyes dart around the room and the expression on their face. Being able to look around that coffee shop and see all the other humans, just gong about their daily lives, some studying, some working, some also there to catch up with a good friend. Your elbows on the table as you lift that warm coffee cup to your mouth, pausing your laughter to take a sip and continue the story you’re sharing with your friend….

How GOOD will the sand on the beach feel between your toes?

(Free photo from canva.com)

Remember that one summer when you went to the beach and the sand was too HOT to step on with bare feet? How it felt to dance across it just to look for a place to lie down your towel and begin to unpack the bag you’ve made for today’s activities with your loved ones. How about that first step into the cool lake water, your toes sinking into the wet sand beneath, the waves lapping at your ankles. How about the first time you dunk your head underwater? The sudden quietness that you hear as your ears dunk beneath as well. Then your head breaks through the surface of the water, instantly refreshed again.

I could go on and on. I implore you to begin thinking this way instead of ruminating on the limitations you’re currently facing. Write them down, visualize them, journal it out! Let yourself get totally immersed in what you miss and love doing. Imagine what would happen if we all started thinking this way instead of ruminating over the restrictions that are placed upon us…

(Credit: canva.com)

My resolution is clear: we need to be planning on never taking these seemingly small things for granted ever again. They’re not small things, we can now see that clearly. We are an adaptive species, that’s for sure, but this time, when we adapt back to our ‘normal’ lives, let’s not forget what we all collectively went through, and show our gratitude for even the smallest freedoms.

Will YOU take these small things for granted ever again? With every bone in my body, I don’t plan on ever forgetting the restrictions and adaptations of COVID-19.

XX LC

feature
Like

About the Creator

Lorah Catherine

Tweet me PLEASE: @LCwritesthings

I don't like writing about the same thing everyday.

I don't like reading about the same topics everyday.

Stay tuned for some 'different' perspectives on my strange worldview.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.