Humans logo

The Strange Occurrence

This is a true story about a dream that really did come true. In loving memory of my amazing grandma Joy

By Kayla KobiPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

My morning routine was the same as it always was. I chatted with my grandparents over coffee and breakfast, helped grandpa feed the horses and then got dressed and ready for work. My grandmother owned a clothing store in our small farm town and I had been tagging along to help at the store for as long as I could remember.

Just as we did every day, we drove the 12 miles into town, found a parking spot in front of the store and sat chatting about what we would do that day to spice things up in the store. Before we opened the store on Monday mornings we always went to check the mail. So as you probably guessed, we headed down the busy street to the post office.

As i was walking up to the door a handsome young man emerged. He was tall with a slender build. He had dark brown hair and piercing blue eyes made me feel as if he could see right into my soul. His charcoal grey dress pants were more than flattering on his waste, not to mention his buttocks. He wore and bright and vibrant pink dress shirt with a grey vest to match his pants. He looked as if he was headed to a wedding. He smiled a devilish smile that made me melt inside, gave me and quick nod and disappeared down the now crowded sidewalk.

" well he sure was handsome" grandma said as she chuckled, bringing me back to reality. Or at least what I thought was reality, because it was at that moment...

I woke up!

That morning over breakfast and coffee, I told grandma about my dream and how I oddly remembered every detail of the man with the devilish smile. Grandpa payed no attention to us as he sipped his coffee. Grandma explained with excitement that seeing color in a dream usually signifies something in our real life and that usually we dream in black and white. We agreed that after work we would get the dream reading book out and see what the colors meant.

When we got to town that morning, we did as we always did and headed to the post office. We were about to cross the street and that's when I saw him.

Tall, slender, dark hair, charcoal dress pants, pink dress shirt, vest, and blue eyes. Oh those eyes! I could never forget those eyes! When he turned and locked eyes we me I felt my breath leave my body and I stopped dead in my tracks. I stopped so suddenly in fact that my grandmother, not noticing, plowed right into me, bringing me back to reality again.

I shook myself out of the trance I seemed to be in and rubbed my eyes wondering if I was in fact having the exact same dream again. When my vision cleared, there he was. Right down to every last detail, it was him. Then man from my dream.

It was then that grandma clued into what had taken my attention so suddenly as I hadn't even noticed her talking to me.

"Oh my!" she exclaimed.

"He really does have those eyes that look right into your soul doesn't he?" grandma said with the look of a love struck teenager on her face.

Just as he did in my dream, he flashed us that devilish smile, gave us a nod and disappeared.

If it weren't for the fact that grandma saw the man as well, I would have swore my eyes were playing tricks on me. We never spoke of the handsome man with the piercing eyes ever again. Nor did i ever see him again.

One thing is for sure. I saw the man from my dream that morning and to this day I will never forget that day.

My grandmother has since passed away and that day is left as nothing but a memory I will forever share with her.

IN LOVING MEMORY OF MY GRANDMOTHER

fact or fiction
Like

About the Creator

Kayla Kobi

I have always found joy in creative writing, I look forward to sharing my stories with you

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.