Humans logo

The Shadow Chronicles

Journey of Love.

By Lily AnnPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
1
The Shadow Chronicles
Photo by Damon Lam on Unsplash

Chapter 1.

I climbed into my red SUV and turned it on. I had just finished a nine hour shift at Anna's Café and just wanted to wait a moment before I had to drive to my mothers house an hour out of town where I will be staying over the weekend. I took in a deep breath before taking my winter coat off and tossing it into the backseat, then taking off my scarf I turned the radio up and pulled out of the parking lot and started driving.

The hour drive was long and tiring, but once I pulled up to the driveway I could tell that something interesting was going to happen this weekend. I just couldn't seem to be able to put my finger on it. Mom was staying on the porch in her winter coat and boots, she had her arms wrapped around herself and she gave me a big smile once I got out of the car. "Layla!" She said as she started walking down the steps to come and greet me. "Hey mom, How are you doing?" I asked while she leaned in to hug me. "Don't worry about that now, how was the drive? I made some hot cocoa, it should still be pretty hot. You know where we keep the whip cream?" She asked as I started grabbing items out of the trunk and placing them on the ground. "The drive was typical, I cant wait to drink the hot cocoa." I stated before picking up my stuff and going into the house.

We spent the rest of the evening watching Romantic comedies and drinking hot cocoa, After I retired to my old bedroom for the night. My room was in the same place that I left it two years ago, the dresser facing the far right wall, my bed on the opposite side. A desk with a small purple computer chair right beside it just waiting to be used, a body mirror hanging behind my door. I set my suitcase down on the bed and start packing my clothes into my old dresser, While I was putting the clothes away I paused and looked out of my window I see a shadow moving. I move closer to the window and cover my mouth to stop a scream. Outside the window I see a man, at least six-foot he's standing right outside the trees that are right outside my mothers backyard. He's staring up at my window, wearing torn jeans and no shirt. "Mom, Mom!" I yell as I back away from the window. "what is it hun?" My mom asks as she rushes into my room. "there is someone outside, looking up." I state as I point to the window. I watched my mom walk over to the window and look out for a moment before turning to me. "There is nobody out there sweetie." She stated, I quickly walk over in disbelief. "There was a man standing just there mom." I stated as I look out the window to see an empty field and nobody out there. "He was just there..." I said quietly to myself. Mom leaned in and wrapped her arms around me. "Its alright sweetie, you just need to get some sleep." I hugged her back then turned again to stare out of the window as my mother left the room.

That night I dreamt that I was walking through the woods behind my mothers house, I could feel eyes on me but it was too foggy for me to . I felt both safe and uncomfortable, I kept walking for what felt like hours before I pause and look straight ahead of me, to find bright yellow eyes staring at me. Next thing I notice I am running through the trees, I hear growling, I run faster. I can feel my heart racing, I can almost see the edge of the trees, once I finally hit the outskirts of the woods I run into something, no. Someone instantly I feel calm, I look up at the person in front of me and all I notice is the deep blue eyes.

literature
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.