Humans logo

The Saddest Day of My Life - Funke Akindele Finally Opens Up

Funke opens up about saddest day of her life

By Jide OkonjoPublished about a year ago 3 min read
1

Nigerian actress and now deputy governor of Lagos State aspirant, Funke Akindele has her new movie, Battle on Buka Street, showing in cinemas nationwide now. The movie showcases a lot of new talent but also has stellar performances from popular names in the industry like Mercy Johnson Okojie, Sola Sobowale, Nkem Owoh, Tina Mba, and more. The film was also shot during a very turbulent time in Funke Akindele's personal life.

During a new interview with Wazobia FM, Funke Akindele opened up about the saddest day of her life which she experienced while on set of Battle on Buka Street, as well as answered to a listener who told her to not stop acting if she becomes deputy governor. Here is what Funke said on air.

**Before reading on, please make sure to like and follow my Facebook page (Jide Okonjo) so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. I have a really fun page. If you like my page, you will have fun too. So what's stopping you? Like my page and let's have fun together!

Funke Akindele on Wazobia FM

During her interview, Funke Akindele was asked: "In this your new movie, Battle on Buka Street, is there any particular scene that gave you serious tough time to film?" Funke responded:

Okay, I want my fans to note this scene. Ha, the fight scene between Mercy [Johnson Okojie] and I, that scene I shot it on the saddest day of my life. I was emotionally down. I cried finish. I cried cried cried, prayed, knelt down, cried, cried, cried. They now called me to come and shoot. Ha! My sister, I breathed in and out. I now told myself "don't give up Funke!" Troubled times will come, but it will go. It will pass. Change na the only thing wey constant. This time will change, that is how I put myself together. [They shouted] "Action!", that is how I did it. Once they cut, that's how I started crying again. I will go to one corner, clean my eye, "Action" again, I pick up. Till I finished the film. So my fans, I want you to note that scene. That scene I filmed it on the saddest day of my life.

"Somebody say if you become deputy governor, make you no stop to dey act oh!"

Ewo! My sister, my brother, I have to face the state matter. The state is serious. We no dey happy with it so we need to make a change. So I don pass the baton to people wey I don train. You know say me I get SceneOne studio. I get studio wey I dey build with Amen Estate over the years where we dey empower people, where we dey nurture talent, where we dey give them opportunity to be seen. So people wey we don train, I don pass the baton to them, "oya dey produce, you dey direct". Battle on Buka Street, na me and Tobi Makinde, Jenifa PA, Timini, na we direct am together. Timini [Tobi Makinde] is a fantastic director now. So make una come celebrate, encourage them. A lot of young people dey this film, new faces.

What do you think about what Funke Akindele said? If you've watched Battle on Buka Street, what did you think about it? Let me know your thoughts by leaving a comment either below or on my Jide Okonjo Facebook post.

That's All.

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to follow my page (Jide Okonjo) if you don’t already for more stories like this, the fun never ends

To catch up on other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day.

celebrities
1

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.