Humans logo

The Real Formula Wizkid Used to Blow and How I’m Applying It - Brymo

Brymo talks music volume

By Jide OkonjoPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like

Brymo is an unconventional artiste. Despite the musician not having any major commercial hit since songs like "Oleku" and "Ara" came out ten years ago, the musician has still found a way to stay relevant in the music industry and continues to have a devoted fanbase and steady income from music. During a new interview with The Cable Lifestyle, Brymo shed some more light about why he doesn't really go on tour, and why he chooses to continually pump out music citing acts like Wizkid and Olamide as his source of reference. Here is what Brymo had to say during the interview.

**Before reading on, please make sure to like and follow my Facebook page (Jide Okonjo) so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. I have a really fun page. If you like my page, you will have fun too. So what's stopping you? Like my page and let's have fun together!

Brymo During Interview

Speaking about why he releases so many songs back to back, doesn't wait between releases of projects and hardly tours or performs, Brymo said citing Wizkid and Olamide for reference:

BRYMO: I don’t know. What I know is that, when I make music, I feel better. When we’re on stage, we feel like inanimate things. The longer I perform, the more it feels dead. And you lose your voice. It’s tedious and pointless work. That’s why you hear artistes call off their tours. But we’re in it for different reasons. There are so many artistes in the world today and nobody is looking for you. You just have to supply, so people can have enough.

Wizkid took over the pop scene when he was releasing so many singles every month. At some point, he was the most published artiste. That’s how he built his takeover. That’s how he became big. The main reason Brymo is big is that I can churn out the kind of songs I do so quickly. That’s all. For everybody, the volume of supply is still very important.

We’re talking about Olamide and it’s about the number of albums. It’s always about the volume of products you put out to catch more patronage for yourself. So, if you’re going to space your albums by two or three years, then I don’t know because the volume is the real job. The fact that artistes tour on a calendar is one of the big problems with touring. I prefer to take money, go to New York, book a hall, sell my tickets, and do my own show as we do in Lagos. It’s fun. You have no idea. Entire master’s process becomes between me, my manager, the concert producer, and the band here. I speak to Kunle Afolayan to give me his hall, and we strike deals and sign papers. We’re selling tickets and broadcasting live. We have a streaming service. I made all the phone calls. So it takes me up to three months to put one event together. I prefer to do that than spend three months touring on behalf of somebody else.

What do you think about what Brymo said? Let me know your thoughts by leaving a comment either below or on my Jide Okonjo Facebook post.

That's All.

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to follow my page (Jide Okonjo) if you don’t already for more stories like this, the fun never end

To catch up on other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day

celebrities
Like

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.