Humans logo

The Panting Wall

A wall with a bunch of canvas, that have paintings on them, in my room.

By Burnt BaguettesPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
1

The Panting Wall

A wall with a bunch of canvas, that have paintings on them, in my room.

The panting wall is my pride and joy. It has been a long time in the making, well since 2016, and even now I am still working on it. The panting wall consists of different paintings, the majority of them are rainbows, from different years. It looks like a three-year-old painted all of them because I can’t paint whatsoever. That makes it even more fun though. It just lets you try out different styles that you never knew were possible. But I just use my imagination and then put it on a canvas.

The first painting that I painted in 2016 was of a Minecraft Youtuber. That one is still not done even though it has been five years in the making and it is the only one on the wall that is not done. My sister helped me with it and then I threw it away. Because it wasn’t the best-looking painting and didn’t spread the most positive message in the world. My mom said it looked good and she took it out of the trash and told me to finish it, but I never did. And still, five years after the painting was started, it’s still not done. But it holds a special place in my heart. It is also the only one that is sort of a human.

The last painting that I have painted was two weeks ago. It’s a picture of a tree with more shades of brown than there are shades of brown. It’s a large tree, with a rainbow background and it has blue and green leaves. I do love it and it is finished, unlike the first one I had ever painted. I like this one and there are so many more that look like it, but this one is my biggest painting on that wall.

A lot of the paintings are pride flags because the wall is my wall to express myself. And my friend’s way. Say if they come out as pansexual to their parents and their parents don’t accept them, I just put that flag on my wall, to symbolize that they are in a safe place where they can be themselves. Canvas, writing, and that wall are my happy place. And I hope to add a lot more flags, maybe of countries, in the future. Only time will truly tell what else will be on that lovely wall that I call the panting wall.

I used one of the smallest walls in my room because it wasn’t visible if I open my closet door. Meaning my mother, who won’t let me hang stuff on the wall, would not see it. Newsflash my mother loves to shut closet doors and she shut mine and saw all my paintings. She liked it and told me to keep it up. So not only did I get permission from my parental unit, but it is also very beautiful. Despite the majority of the painting being on the ground. Because one of them falls and it starts a chain reaction and they all start falling. So that’s not the nicest thing in the world. But I still love my wall.

Hanging the pictures up is the hardest thing to do, hence why they fall all the time. So at first, I went to a hardware store down the street from my house because I needed tape for my led lights, which already had tape on the back, but I didn’t know. So after getting some very strong double-sided tape I started putting them up. At first above my bed, but they hurt when they came crashing down on my head while I was sleeping, so that was a safety hazard. So I moved it to a wall that I could see my paintings without getting hit in the head. The tape ended up not working so I went to amazon and got more cheap tape, but this time with hooks! And that has been holding out for about a week. I just need the motivation to put the rest that are on the floor up!

I didn’t use a hammer and instead of cheap tape from amazon and a hardware store down the street from my house. This has been a project that I plan to work on for the rest of my days until I get kicked out. Then I will do it in my apartment or house. I love my wall and it will always have a special place in my heart, even if it so bad at holding my paintings and it just hates having tape on it. And the number of loud noises that have come from the paintings falling will keep me awake for days. No matter what this is my favorite project and I love it!

art
1

About the Creator

Burnt Baguettes

I like to write sad, dystopian lesbian love stories. That is all you really need in life.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.