Humans logo

The overthinking soldier

anxiety in service members

By Ashanti BrownPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
The overthinking soldier
Photo by Kelly Sikkema on Unsplash

“4-0-0-9”, “4-0-0-9” “Oh, that’s me”, Briana said as she snaps into a range walk into the distant room. “Verify your Last name, date of birth and last 4” Said the Military medic. “Usufruilau, July 29, 1990, 4-0-0-9.”

“Hold up your right arm and make a fist for me.” I ball my fist tight and prepare for my “Peanut butter shot”. I hate shots, Briana mumbled.

“Aye Private, did he ask you to speak?!” “No, Drill Sergeant.” Briana quickly shouted. “Look straight ahead and get ready to move out.” Before She knew it a dose of Penicillin, a strong antibiotic medicine, was injected into her arm feeling like thick metal lumps swimming through a tiny needle.

“9-8-7-7”, The military medic shouted. “I walked out of the room, dying of anxiety of what just happened”. She thought to herself.

“Usu..fri..” The Drill Sergeant struggled to say her name. “You have all your immunizations soldier? Drill sergeant Manujeral asked. “Yes, Drill Sergeant.” Briana responded. “Alright, fall in the rear soldier.” She turns 180 degrees on her left heel with her right foot leading executing an About Face.

“Did I do that right? I hope so. Everyone is staring at me from the corner of their eye. Do not make eye contact. Shoot! I made eye contact.” Briana walks expeditiously to the back of the line. “I wish I could just lean on this wall; these boots are giving me blisters on the back of my ankles. I cannot wait for lunch.” She said to herself.

“PSs, Usufruilua?” Briana’s battle buddy, Polmfy whispered from in front of her. “Girl what?” She whispered back. “Drill Sergeant Isiah Manujeral is so sexy, even his name is sexy!” “How do you know that Polmfy?.” Briana curious to know.

“Who’s talking?!?” Dr Sergeant Manujeral shouts. The room fills with frustration and fear instantly. “Oh, so no one is going to tell on their battle buddy, you already know what that calls for!”

“Half-Right, FACE.” Everyone faces 90 degrees to the right. “Front Leaning Rest Position, MOVE!” Squeaky boots slide across the floor as all the soldiers drop in unison ready for their corrective training.

“Down.” Drill Sergeant Manujeral shouts. “Up.” “One Drill Sergeant.” They all shouted back as a proper response.

“Down.” “Up.” “Two Dill Sergeant.” “Down.” “I did not tell you to get up, you get up on my command!” Beads of sweat started forming on their eyebrows, condensation builds up in Briana’s eyeglasses. “You know you all look sweaty, pitiful and ridiculous. We’re almost through.”

“Up.” “Position of attention, MOVE! We jumped up collectively awaiting our next position. “Half-Left, FACE!” “Parade, REST!” Briana interlocks her hands behind her lower back, her shoulders immediately ache from being in the stance all day.

“I cannot believe this girl did not wait to tell me that. I wanted to yell her name, but I knew it was not only her. I did not have to respond to her. We’re going to laugh at this later.” Briana reflects deeply to herself while remaining in Parade Rest.

“Position of Attention, MOVE!” Briana snapped her arms sharply down the sides of each leg. “Yo left, Yo left, Yo left, right or left.” Drill sergeant Manujeral marched us out of the cold, empty building and onto the sidewalk to for Chow Formation.

“The more I stare at him, the more turned on I become” Briana thought as she repeats his command back in a cadence rhythm. Briana enjoyed discipline but often mistook it for abuse like her absent mother and she did not have a close relationship with her father due to his unstable career.

“I miss my father. I find it strange we have the exact same job in the military and yet I did not know who he was.” Briana spatted. What kind of father calls and never visits their child?

review
Like

About the Creator

Ashanti Brown

Ashanti

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.