Humans logo

The Lone Glass Of Merlot

Remembering A Love Long Ago

By Theodore DembowskiPublished 3 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
6

I walked along until I reached the open field with blueberry patches. It has been 20 years since I first began this trip. Every year I come here to remember her.

It was a warm summer day. Just the two of us took this stroll long ago. We were young and in love. We have been friends for years, so I knew her well, but never dreamed that she would say yes when I asked her on a date. Nevertheless, here we were, strolling together on our first official date and I was nervous.

I still remember the day I asked her. I looked at her with a bright smile on my face, made eye contact and asked, “How would you like to get away from it all, go on a date with me to a secluded field in the middle of nowhere, bring a blanket, a basket of food, and a bottle of merlot?”

Her face lit up as she replied, “I thought you would never ask!”

To this day I credit the merlot as the deciding factor in her decision. You see, she was a big wine drinker, a connoisseur if you will. She talked about the decadent, fruity, delicious beverage all of the time. It was her favorite.

We hiked for about 30 minutes before reaching the clearing. I read somewhere that the field existed, but had never been there. We were both pioneers on this journey.

When the path opened up to the vast and beautiful field, I was in awe. We both were. Stopping to take in the view upon arrival, we breathed in the fresh air, and just enjoyed the sunshine beating down on our faces.

Making our way to the middle of the field we spread the blanket out, holding the corners down with rocks. The whole time, joking about how we had liked each other for so long and neither of us had the guts to make the first move. How foolish we were.

Plopping down near the middle of the blanket, sitting closer than we have ever done in the past, our legs touched as we got comfortable. It was at that moment that we knew that this was right. We were in love. You could feel the sparks between us as if our bodies were charged with electricity. I poured us two hefty glasses of merlot as she took out crackers, cheese, and fruit, setting them up on small dishes upon the blanket. We took a sip of the delicious burgundy colored beverage, smiled at each other, and then shared our first kiss. Magic was in the air.

That was our first date. It also was our last. Over the next week she grew ill with the cancer growing inside of her. We learned that she had been carrying it for quite some time. Not knowing that she was sick for so long made the cancer grow to a point beyond repair. A month went by before the disease took over completely and defeated her. I was by her side every step of the way.

Moving further into the field, I set up the blanket, holding the ends down with rocks. A gentle breeze blew as I sat down in the middle and took some fruit, cheese, and crackers out of our basket. I placed them onto two small plates, one for me, and one for my beloved. I poured two glasses of that sweet merlot and took a sip. I sat there for as long as I could before finishing my glass and leaving the rest for her. Packing up the basket of snacks and the blanket, I placed the lone glass of merlot in the middle of the field where our first date was held. Saying goodbye for the last time.

“I will see you soon, my love.”

AUTHOR'S NOTE

I have been writing for a lot of years. I have several stories in the works, and lots of poems. I found Vocal Media in March 2021 and since then have been revising, editing, and creating more poems and stories. I absolutely love writing anything from poems and short stories to history. If you want to reach out to me and learn more you can find me @theodore_the_spartan on Instagram.

Want to read more of my work Click Here. I only profit off this website through reads, tips, and challenge wins. So read on! Feel free to tip and give a heart to any of your favorites ;)

Thank You For Reading!

~Theodore

literature
6

About the Creator

Theodore Dembowski

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.