Humans logo

The Life We Built

A Story of Lexie Bean

By Lolly Paige LennoxPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
1
Lexie Bean: Author, Actor, & Queer Icon

I never remember meeting Lexie. It was one of those things when you're in high school and you just see people everyday, or you know someone who knows someone, and you know of each other. I never remember being introduced or having a formal moment when I met them. I just remember gawking in the hallways at what a free-spirit he was, even back then. I will never forget seeing the most graceful being doing twirls down B Hall in a tutu on a school day. Even back then, Lexie was a hero.

Obviously, this day in age, it is easy to stay in touch. Some years after high school when I was trying sobriety and Lexie was finishing college, they embarked on a project involving the body--the first of many publications about trauma, love, survival, and support. I wrote a piece to my spleen that was featured in the first book, Attention: People With Body Parts. Shortly after that, Lexie took me on her team as something like Public Relations. It was a title I certainly didn't feel worthy of, nor did I have the slightest clue what I was doing. But he never made me feel bad about that. It was the first time anyone asked my pronouns back in 2013. I even had my own business cards, and got to choose my own name! I learned so much about approaching strangers about things I believe in, and doing things behind the scenes, and what it means to be a part of something greater than just you or it but everything.

This project lead me to go out on a limb and chase something I could hardly understand. One my favorite projects to this day was the postcards. I had a collection of blank vintage postcards that I would hand out to friends or family and sometimes strangers, and I'd have them write a letter to their body part. When I'd have an art show, I'd hang the postcards on homemade mobiles and sell copies of the book and talk to people about what amazing work we were doing. I wasn't doing much, and Lexie never seemed to mind that I floundered. We just really loved what we were doing, and we really believed in the work.

I also attended an event put on by Lexie in a barn space out some way. It was something very interesting to me. It was the first time I had been to something like that, where people shared poetry and dances and were truly intimate. It felt vulnerable just to attend, I couldn't imagine sharing. At the time, I don't even think I was healed enough to hear what they said; unable to identify with my own mishaps. But I still remember it. I remember the discomfort of seeing someone's pain. I remember the feeling of love that we gained. I remember feeling a bit out of place to feeling like I was accept for the first time ever. The emotion behind Lexie's work is unmatched.

Lexie when on to publish a full-length novel, the Ship We Built, inspired by a time before we met. It is considered to be one of the first children's novels involving a trans main character. We have come so far from our days back in our home town, but I could not be more proud. I am in awe to know them. I am honored to have been a part of their journey. It is so exciting to see the reviews and praise for the things they create. I feel blessed to have shared even a moment, let alone a deeper connection, to someone like Lexie.

When it comes to heroes, many people will choose those who have acquired riches or fame. While notoriety can mean something, it will never be everything. I admire those who are brave enough to stand in the face of adversity. I look up to those who speak up for themselves or marginalized groups. I aspire to be like the people before me who let nothing stop them and no one tell them otherwise. I am inspired by the people who allowed me to explore the very depth of myself, my worth, my memories, and heart. I have always been different, but it is the heroes like Lexie that never made me feel alone.

book reviews
1

About the Creator

Lolly Paige Lennox

I am known for my gifts in Tarot and the dead, the Dead, being grateful and psychedelic and a little strange in the head. Sort of a beatnik, like a harlot, or a bard, and a sorcerer. Definitely a nerd.

Not a professional - Probably an expert

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.