Humans logo

The Jane Austen Shelf

Creating a Jane Austen Online Shrine

By Lauren Writes AustenPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
The Jane Austen Shelf
Photo by Paolo Chiabrando on Unsplash

Jane Austen: the WOMAN, the Myth, the Legend

For a while now, Jane Austen has been, not only my favourite author, but also a small obsession of mine. (Okay it might be bigger than I make it out to be.) And since joining the Vocal writers community I've been trying to find my niche, my thing, something to write about week after week, to build a little community of my own in, and I think I've finally found it... any guesses?

Jane Austen, of course!

Don't know who Jane Austen is? Well you probably have heard of her very popular novel Pride and Prejudice but here is some basic info on her life.

Austen was born in 1775 in Steventon, England. She died at the age of 41 in 1817. Her father was a vicar and she was one of eight children. I feel like many people think of Austen as a wealthy aristocrat but she grew up on a farm and had to make her money writing (although still relied on help from family). In her life she wrote six novels; Pride and Prejudice, Sense and Sensibility, Mansfield Park, and Emma, which she saw published in her lifetime. The other two, Northanger Abbey and Persuasion, were published after her death in 1817. She did write countless other stories, plays, a popular novella called Lady Susan, etc. Austen never married and lived with her sister (and best friend) Cassandra, who also never married (although was engaged at one point), and their mother most of her life.

I've reached a tipping point in my knowledge of Jane Austen that I've already created a LONG list of articles that I could write including reviews for her novels (and other works), reviews for biographies on Austen, reviews for movies based on her books, and more speculative articles and essays.

And I think it's needless to say that I have created a shelf dedicated to her in my office! You see I had a shelf of just classics like the Lord of the Rings series, work by L.M. Montgomery (author of Anne of Green Gables), Austen, etc. But my Austen stuff is getting a bit out of hand, so I moved it to its very own shelf where I hope it will be very happy sitting above my personal favourite books (specifically stand alones) of all time.

I’m actually just starting Mansfield Park, probably one of Austen’s not so well known books, and the longest. It’s the only book I have yet to read… and I’m a bit nervous, I won’t lie. It’s not my favourite storyline (I know because I watched the movie before reading, oops) and I’m not sure that I’ll like it as much as her other novels. But of course it’ll be better than anything the Bronte sisters wrote.

That reminds me, this is a Bronte sister slander page… just kidding… kind of.

Every now and then I will pop in with other bookish articles, some that do have a bit to do with Austen (like a comparison of Jane Austen and Charlotte Bronte, fans of Charlotte Bronte should not read, like I said Bronte sister slander) and some might not have anything to do with Austen but will still be fun!

My goal is to get more people into Austen, and find people who love her as much as myself! I hope you’ll join me as we explore this 17th century author with a wild imagination and a crazy ironic sense of humor, as I build The (online) Jane Austen Shelf.

Wanna talk Jane Austen? Find me @adoresbylaures on instagram!

Also I am (mostly) joking about the Bronte sister slander, fans please don't come for me! Please!

book reviews
1

About the Creator

Lauren Writes Austen

A dedcated creator to all things Jane Austen!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.