Humans logo

The Four Life Things I Changed Now That I'm In My Upper Sixties

It's all about aging and that's a good thing

By Lee J. Bentch Published 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
The Four Life Things I Changed Now That I'm In My Upper Sixties
Photo by Brad Starkey on Unsplash

I was thinking about how I've changed over the years. Part of me says I haven't changed a bit. While my soulful self tells me a lot has changed.

I am 67 now. And I can no longer deny it; I'm getting old. But no reason to let age stand in my way. I still work, maintain both career and personal relevancy, exercise, eat, drink, and overall good health. 

But I am doing things now that put me in the senior category. As Seniors, aren't we entitled to a bit of eccentricity, comfort, and stretching the envelope?

I took a few minutes to figure out what I'm doing now that I didn't do twenty years ago. The list is pretty intense; thus, I've reduced it to four things I'd like to share:

My Sleep Habits

I sleep in a recliner, and I'm proud of it. As radical as this sounds, several people do this. There are also many manufacturers of Sleep Recliners. 

A few months after my wife passed away, I redid the master bedroom, turning it into a man cave and office. I didn't need a king-sized bed anymore. 

Besides, the dogs loved our mattress. I tried to break them from sleeping on it, but they thought that was a game. They are good dogs, but after 45 years of sharing a bed with my wife, it didn't seem proper sleeping with my dogs after she passed. So I got rid of the mattress and took apart the frame. The dogs now have doggie beds to use. 

Remarkably, the few problems I had with sleep apnea, gastric reflux, and back pains immediately disappeared when I settled into my recliner. 

My Happy Feet with no Socks

I don't wear socks anymore; my feet are comfortable without them.

The shoes I wear are breathable, so my feet don't smell. The older I got, the harder it became to put socks on. As I am no longer obligated to be business casual, from a polo shirt to shoes, I haven't had to dress up with the obligatory pair of black shoes and socks. Instead, my inventory of shoes is beat-up tennis shoes, flippies, and sandals. My feet are happy. 

Speaking of Feet

The third thing I do is every two months; I get a 'manly' pedicure at one of the local nail salons. I would never have done this in my twenties. 

As I've aged, I have difficulty reaching my toes. Thus I outsource my toe hygiene. The salon I go to has 25 wide-screen TVs, a full bar, and deer heads on the wall. If it didn't smell like acetone, one would think it was a sports bar. 

Last But Not Least

I quickly realized there was no way I could eat enough fruits and vegetables during a day to get the recommended amount of fiber. I gave in and turned to fiber supplements. I keep a bottle of Fiber Supplements on my bathroom counter, and they work well. My Doctor has no problem with it. 

Lifestyle Changes as Honorable Mentions:

  • I wake up at 4 am feeling refreshed, but I'm usually asleep by 9 pm. 
  • I enjoy a quick afternoon nap at 2 pm. 
  • I don't consume as much alcohol as I used to, opting more for taste than volume. 
  • I devour news reports multiple times throughout the day. 
  • As much as I love technology, I still can't figure out what Minecraft is all about. 
  • Nothing beats spending a few hours a week listening to music from the sixties and seventies. 
  • I enjoy eating dinner at 5 pm. Why not? I eat breakfast at 5 am, lunch at 11:30 am, light snacks at 2:30; I'm hungry at 5 pm. 
  • I have a walking stick I use occasionally. Primarily to assist when my sciatica nerve problems kick in. 
  • I avoid big crowds, crazy traffic jams, and long drives without knowing where to stop for the restroom. 
  • I shave hair off my ears. 

I don't miss my old ways; I do things now to help me avoid serious medical problems, stay out of harm's way, and allow me to be comfortable. 

It helps to look at each day as a new adventure to appreciate.

list
Like

About the Creator

Lee J. Bentch

I am a general interest author actively involved with technology and communications. My inspiration to write is multi-dimensional. I am a multi-service Veteran.with a Masters in Communications from the University of Northern Colorado.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.