Humans logo

The Empty Boat Down Ternham Way

And the Secret Inside the Little Black Book

By Nessy WriterPublished 3 years ago 10 min read
2
Photo taken by myself

I've always preferred running outdoors. It gives you the feeling of going somewhere, even if it's nowhere in particular. You secretly hope to discover something new. There's a canal that cuts through Ternham way. It's fringed by far reaching trees that seem to peer at their own liquid reflections when the water's still, even as they move with the breeze. The dirt path lining it was the perfect running route.

That canal was more a street than a water way, always filled with long, bobbing boats that shouted with colour against the muted, earthy banks. Violets, yellows, navy blues. Each boat was a miniature, floating world, enjoying a moment of stillness before one day moving on and being replaced by another story. With many I only ever exchanged a head nod. But there were a few boat owners I came to know, permanent moorings that never left.

'The Dragonfly' was a jade green boat owned by Celia, the young teacher with strawberry blonde hair and a ginger cat, Tom. Tom had been raised by Celia's eager but soft Jack Russel, so behaved just like a dog. Coming back when called, treating Scruff like his elder sister. Residents like Celia were doing this to save money whilst enjoying a different way of life. Others were committed to it for life, the boat and them were almost interchangeable entities.

Like Dr. Cranks, doctor of what, no one knew. His boat was well worn and neglected, the paintwork chipped. This was something he was strangely proud of, felt it was a badge of authenticity. A rusted metal skip was always floating behind. It was full of what he called 'vital items'. The name on the boat itself was hard to distinguish, but he also had a sign hanging on a hairy piece of rope to avoid any and all confusion. '20,000 Leagues Under the Sea'. It was his favorite book, reminding him of his former days on the coast. I never did ask why he'd chosen to settle here instead of a harbor. Perhaps calmer waters call to you later in life.

There was one permanently settled boat owner I'd never seen. Only the glow of light through a frosted window now and then. The vessel itself was hard to miss. Vibrant, cobalt blue, with clean, white porthole covers. Potted flowers of all colors and scents lined the roof, giving it a sense of freshness. On the side, in bright, red letters outlined in gold, 'The Josephine'. I'd always stop to admire her.

It was a balmy Summer evening, the days were longer and brighter. The water caught the light like molten gold. The warm air whipped my face as I ran. Some of the boats had moved on that weekend and the canal seemed emptier. Which made what I saw on The Josephine stand out even more abruptly.

For the first time, a woman was sat there on the deck, scribbling intently in a black, leather-bound notebook. She had white streaks in her thick, black hair coiled into a messy bun at the back of her head. She looked up suddenly with sparkling grey eyes that seemed to catch the light much like the water did. Her skin resembled old leather, and she put down the notebook with weather-worn hands. Her face lit up with a welcoming smile.

"Well hello there."

I could only stare stupidly.

"You're the one I hear going past my window, aren't you?"

I nodded.

"Well it's nice to have some company for once, why don't you join me for some tea?"

I hesitated. She pulled out a deck chair and briskly brushed off any debris. Would be rude to ignore the invitation now. She went by Ms. Grenhurst, and she'd only settled here a month before I had. Before that, she'd been travelling all over Europe, navigating the canal systems and even sailing the Mediterranean. I was fascinated by her adventures. From that evening, I began to see her out on her chair more often. Sometimes she'd simply salute me as I passed, but more and more often, I'd spend an hour or two sharing her company. She always had her black notebook with her. Either writing in it, scanning it's pages or stroking it absentmindedly. One day I asked her about it.

"This? Oh this is the most important thing I own. A gift from my daughter. You'll never see me without it, and if you do, you know something's not right," she chuckled to herself.

"This boat is named after her you know, my Josephine."

"Where is she now?"

"Gone." There was a deep sadness in the finality of that word. "It is a hard thing indeed when our child moves on before us, but in this boat I feel her spirit is with me. She always told me, ma, you should travel."

"What happened to her?"

"She was going on another trip, after University. She didn't call me like she normally would when she landed, and I never saw her again."

I paused at this revelation, not knowing how to respond.

"A year after she was pronounced 'most likely deceased', I finally worked up the courage to do the travel like she'd wanted me to, even if that was the reason I lost her."

I could feel her grief on the breeze. I understood her.

"I'm so sorry, my mother passed away from cancer this past year."

She looked at me withe deep understanding and sympathy, placing a hand on mine.

"We have known the same suffering on opposing sides."

A moment of silence passed, considering those who'd left us. The conversation moved on as the breeze did and with further visits, we didn't speak of it again.

Going into Autumn the nights became longer again. I got home late but the full moon was out, so bright it felt like an inverted daytime. I yearned to see it's reflection on the water. Though Ms. Grenhurst had probably turned in for the night, I habitually slowed down as I approached The Josephine. The pale light muted all the colors to shades of ghostly grey. There was no light in the window. Before I could move on, I saw it on the table. The black notebook.

You'll never see me without it.

Something wasn't right. I knew how important this notebook was to her, if she really had forgotten it, she'd be devastated if it was lost or stolen. Maybe I could put it in a safer place. I picked it up, and a loose sheet of folded paper fell out. I was shocked to see my name in the moonlight. I opened it up.

If you're reading this now, then all my faith in you was proven right. You listened. Leave as soon as possible, take the notebook and don't finish reading this until you're safely home and alone. Don't panic and don't tell anyone.

I felt the urgency of this cryptic message and blindly obeyed. When I was safely in my room, I continued reading.

I have had to go far away from here and I need your help. I've been gathering information for a long time, information I couldn't be caught with. I am compromised, but I finally found her. Josephine is alive! She needs a package delivered to her and she'll be free. In the notebook are three lines that only you will understand, to find the package and her.

When you do, give her the notebook and she'll know it's from me. You understand, you'd do anything to get your mother back. Please help me.

I couldn't believe it. This was all so strange and yet, I felt instantly that I was the only one who could help her. I opened the notebook. The contents were even more confusing. It was full of what appeared to be coordinates, vague maps, observations noted at different times on different days, none of it clear to the reader. There was a clue in here for me, I just had to find it.

With the coming days as I searched through page after page, I began to get disheartened. I didn't even know what I was looking for. And then, I saw it. The words Tom and Crank jumped out at me.

Go visit Tom's nook.

When safe, check it meets Cranks' requirement.

Check the back and Penelope.

Well only the first line made sense. The only Tom I knew, was a cat. He had a catbed a little way from The Dragonfly where he would often sleep with scruff, on a stone ledge. There was no time to be lost. I left before anyone was awake, the note made it clear no one could know, not even Daisy. When I came to the nook, thankfully, it was empty. I searched all around the catbed but found nothing, then it hit me. The catbed was new, a gift from Ms. Grenhurst, she'd made it herself. I couldn't believe what I was about to do, I hoped Daisy and Tom could forgive me. Finding a sharp stone I cut into the base of the material. I felt around desperately in the fluff until, yes! There was something there. A rectangular parcel that had "Leave now!" written on it. I replaced the stuffing and hid the hole as best I could, before sprinting back.

I wondered what Crank's requirements could possibly be? Clearly I had to open up the package. With shaking fingers I carefully unwrapped it and gasped. It was money. Strangely it was dollars, a pile of 100 dollar bills. All became clear. 20,000 Leagues Under the Sea. My heart was racing. I had to check if there was $20,000 here?! I tried to stay calm, fighting my anxiety. I wasn't keeping the money, I'd be rid of it soon. It was obviously a ransom. Once counted and recounted I went to the back of the book. A list of dates and times. The very last one, was this coming Sunday at 10 a.m.

The final piece of the puzzle was Penelope. It took me a while, but eventually I remembered. Penelope was the porcelain plant pot of a fine lady on top The Josephine’s roof. Could it be that simple? But it was. A shred of paper hidden in the base. It was an address. This was a lot of money, I’d have to pass over everything by hand. It would be dangerous. But I trusted Ms. Grenhurst and she was depending on me to get her daughter back. So there I found myself sat in an abandoned warehouse on a Sunday morning, waiting for it to be over.

Half an hour passed. Was I even in the right spot? Then I heard footsteps. Spotted a woman stumbling in, skinny with dark circles under her eyes. But that black hair and grey gaze were unmistakable. It was her.

"Josephine!"

Her head whipped round, her eyes narrowed and she walked towards me cautiously. When I brought out the notebook and the package, all suspicion fell away.

"I knew she'd find a way to get me out of here, I knew it!" She took the items from my hands, her own trembling. Her eyes were brightened and glassy with tears.

"Thank you! How much is here?"

"$20,000...It's all there, I triple checked."

She backed away from me slowly, her face losing all color.

"She only managed to get half the payment..."

"I'm so sorry. So so sorry," she whispered. My heart fell into the pit of my squirming stomach.

"I didn't take any of it! Honestly."

"I know. That's why you're here"

"I-. What do you mean?"

"You're the other half of the payment. You're my replacement."

"No..."

It couldn't be? But then it could. She would have done anything. Only then did I notice, the warehouse door that had been open, was now shut.

Hope you enjoyed this story! Appreciate a like if you did. Check out my Twitter for more!

literature
2

About the Creator

Nessy Writer

A freelance writer of all sorts sharing it out with the world. Poetry, prose and advice.

If you want to show your support and see more please follow me on Twitter: Nessywriter

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.