Humans logo

The Cottage At The Side Of The River

How much things can change in a year

By Jumbled OrderPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
2
Cottage at the side of the river 

Chapter 1

Everything seemed to go wrong that year. I lost my job, I lost my grandma and I lost what I thought was the love of my life.

One day, after recovering from everything that happened, I decided to finally pull myself together, grow a pair and make something of myself. It was 6am on a Tuesday, I decided it would be best to get up early just to make the most out of my day, I went down stairs at my mums (thats where I was living now with my current circumstances), and made myself some breakfast, I sat at the dining room table looking out of the window into the garden, sipping on a green tea and eating a spoonful of porridge after every thought.

“Lilly!” Mum startles me with abrupt shriek.

I jump out of my chair with unexpectant fear, “Christ! Why did you have to shout?!” “You were daydreaming again, about to drop your spoonful of porridge on the floor” mum went on, “well next time could you be a little less... loud?” “Apologies” she says and wonders off into the conservatory.

𝒯ℴ 𝒹ℴ 𝓁𝒾𝓈𝓉:

∙ 𝓁ℴℴ𝓀 𝒻ℴ𝓇 𝒶 𝒿ℴ𝒷

∙ 𝒫𝓁𝒶𝓃𝓉 𝓈ℴ𝓂ℯ 𝒽ℯ𝓇𝒷𝓈

∙ℛℯ𝒶𝒹 𝒶 𝒷ℴℴ𝓀

∙𝓁ℯ𝒶𝓇𝓃 𝓂ℯ𝒹𝒾𝓉𝒶𝓉𝒾ℴ𝓃

Well that’s today’s jobs listed, now to get to it.

Scrolling, scrolling, scrolling. Jesus, why are there never any good jobs around here. Wait a minute... what’s this...?

𝙹𝚘𝚋 𝙾𝚙𝚎𝚗𝚒𝚗𝚐!

𝙼𝚢 𝚗𝚊𝚖𝚎 𝚒𝚜 𝙼𝚒𝚕𝚍𝚊. 𝙸 𝚊𝚖 96 𝚢𝚎𝚊𝚛𝚜 𝚘𝚏 𝚊𝚐𝚎, 𝙸 𝚕𝚒𝚟𝚎 𝚒𝚗 𝚊 700 𝚢𝚎𝚊𝚛 𝚘𝚕𝚍 𝚌𝚘𝚝𝚝𝚊𝚐𝚎 𝚘𝚗 𝚝𝚑𝚎 𝚎𝚍𝚐𝚎 𝚘𝚏 𝚝𝚑𝚎 𝚟𝚒𝚕𝚕𝚊𝚐𝚎, 𝚜𝚎𝚎 𝚖𝚢 𝚌𝚘𝚗𝚝𝚊𝚌𝚝 𝚍𝚎𝚝𝚊𝚒𝚕𝚜 𝚋𝚎𝚕𝚘𝚠 𝚒𝚏 𝚢𝚘𝚞 𝚠𝚘𝚞𝚕𝚍 𝚋𝚎 𝚒𝚗𝚝𝚎𝚛𝚎𝚜𝚝𝚎𝚍 𝚒𝚗 𝚑𝚎𝚕𝚙𝚒𝚗𝚐 𝚖𝚎 𝚌𝚊𝚛𝚎 𝚏𝚘𝚛 𝚖𝚢 𝚑𝚘𝚖𝚎 𝚊𝚗𝚍 𝚐𝚊𝚛𝚍𝚎𝚗. 𝙸 𝚠𝚒𝚕𝚕 𝚗𝚘𝚝 𝚋𝚎 𝚊𝚋𝚕𝚎 𝚝𝚘 𝚘𝚏𝚏𝚎𝚛 𝚊 𝚐𝚛𝚎𝚊𝚝 𝚍𝚎𝚊𝚕 𝚒𝚗 𝚏𝚞𝚗𝚍𝚜 𝚠𝚑𝚒𝚌𝚑 𝙸 𝚞𝚗𝚍𝚎𝚛𝚜𝚝𝚊𝚗𝚍 𝚒𝚜 𝚝𝚑𝚎 𝚒𝚜𝚜𝚞𝚎 𝚝𝚑𝚎𝚜𝚎 𝚍𝚊𝚢𝚜 𝚋𝚞𝚝 𝚊𝚗𝚢𝚝𝚑𝚒𝚗𝚐 𝚠𝚘𝚞𝚕𝚍 𝚑𝚎𝚕𝚙.

Bless her heart. With where I am in life at the moment I would be great-full for anything. What harm could it do just contacting her and finding out more?

My phone is already staring at pleading me to call her. I'm automatically typing Milda’s phone number in...

“𝓗𝓮𝓵𝓵𝓸?“

“Good Morning, am i speaking with Milda?“ My voice cracks at this point, my problem when I try sounding confident, I get too ahead of myself and this happens. I take a breath.

“yes yes it is, good morning my sweet, are you by any chance calling in regards to the job advertisement I left online?“

“why yes I am!“

“Oh how wonderful, do come down and visit me this afternoon? I will get ready an afternoon tea, so we can then sit down and have a good chat, how does that sound?“

“That would be lovely“

“I will see you this afternoon then, I will send you over my address shortly and we will go from there. What's your name deary?“

“Lilly.“

“What a lovely name! See you this afternoon Lilly“

“see you“

fact or fiction
2

About the Creator

Jumbled Order

well... theres not really much to say, other than, I like to write, not necessarily about anything important but I try and thats all that matters...

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.