Humans logo

The Art of Gift Giving

How to Keep Someone’s Attention!

By Jay LeTron DobbinsPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 4 min read
1
The Art of Gift Giving
Photo by Nathan Dumlao on Unsplash

This is a wonderful time during the calendar year! Although I’m not a fan of holiday gifting, I still admire the craft of knowing the person you are close to, or trying to get close to and gift giving is so important when it comes to any relationship. I use to be so ticked when I use to spend hours and consideration for a Mother’s Day gift, and return, to receive a Captain America watch for Father’s Day. Placing consideration into a gift is not a gender specific task! Men, if you don’t receive something special the only you can benefit from, then it’s time to consider a new mate.

Gift giving is a thoughtful process! There is a great deal of listening and observation that is needed beforehand. Yes, there are levels and I will explain this later. However, stay away from common gifts. Also, avoid cheap assessorsies. If I ever receive another Captain America watch again, I’m ending the relationship right on the spot. Gifts should be about showing or displaying the appreciation of thought. The message of “I was thinking of you” should be carried over when the gift is given. Notice that I haven’t said anything about money and money should never be a factor. Now some gifts will cost money and that will bring me to what I think should be the highest gift level, which is level 3.

Now level 3 is for serious, monogamous type stuff only. Now sneaky-link should not look for gifts on this level. I would even suggest that if there is no level of physical or mental intimacy (maybe both), there should be no distribution of gifts on this level. I mean a gift 3 level is a gift that will make her say, “I am the only one, let me stop playing around”. Think about the gift that is worth giving, and no one else could have. Ladies, how many men will receive a suit or sports jacket? That is not a common gift. I mean a good quality suit material like a Brooks Brothers and above. This gift has to give that person the “I’m on top of the world” feeling! Women know when a man gives a level 3 gift and she receives the feeling of confirmation when this happens. However, both sides should know that if they are not doing level 3 things, then level 3 gifts are not coming.

Fear not, level 2 is just what the doctor ordered. Now level 2 could be small random gifts (which a level 3 person might receive as well), that are received and giving the message of “I’m thinking about you, but we are not there yet!” Ladies, if a card comes on Valentines Day and nothing more than some CVS candy, level 2 all day! This may sound funny, but how common is a Walmart card and some candy? There is no thought process into this type of gifting. This is Bath & Bodyworks all day! That’s level 2! Not like a leveling up to a hand-crafted bracelet that is hard to find in jewelry stores (that’s level 3, my bad). Level 2 is for the individual who is not rare and unfortunately not receiving much playing time. At least this is better than level 1!

Now some may be surprised because level 1 gifting could be exercised on all three levels. Brothers, if there is level 1 gifting taking place to a level 2 or 3 person, the days are numbered. Let’s break it down! Level one gifting is something that is last minute ideas! I knew when I received that Captain America watch from a lady making 6 figures, her days were numbered. Men, ladies think the same exact way. There is no last minute gift giving and if so, the level of interest is not really there and this displays comfort or lackadaisical spirit from the gift giver. Yes, this person is allowed only one time (maybe) but if you bring your hind parts in a relationship with this type of lackluster, I can assure that this relationship will not last.

The key to any gift is time and consideration. I can tell what kind of consideration is giving when a gift is received. Now I talk about my horrible Captain America watch, but let me tell you the best gift I ever received. First, understand there was thought in her method and the gift centered around my current activities at the time. We were level 2 at the time, but our age difference was a determined factor which hindered the relationship. However, damn! She knew how to give gifts! She calls me and says that she has my birthday gift and to come over (no not that, mind out the gutter please). I get there and it’s a Brooks Brothers bag with a tie and a gift card to purchase a shirt and suit. Now that was strong level 2 type gifting right there! It was not the price point, but the thought process that was displayed. Com on now! Roslyn knew how to give and from her style of giving, made me a more conscientious giver to this day!

No matter the level, understand the thought process is everything when giving a gift. I hope she smiles when the gift is received. Take time and don’t wait until the last minute. Happy giving!

how to
1

About the Creator

Jay LeTron Dobbins

Casual writer! Love to express in print! Tell people how you feel and love life to the fullest with no regrets. Try to say something good about a person when they can hear it, and not when they are gone! Love like no tomorrow.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.