Humans logo

The American In London Part 1 – The beginning of everything

The Beginning

By Ronald PinedaPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like

The beginning of everything so where do I begin, I mean I don’t even know if I am doing this right. But as I have come to lately say in Life “why not”. So I figured if I am going to to do this right I am going to tell it like it is. (“* and yes there might be some grammar problems along the way, so you grammar nazi, just hang in there). I will do this story like most things like this it will be done in parts. So here we go…

So let’s start this from the beginning back home in Miami, where I grew up. I know most of you might be thinking why the hell would you leave Miami, of all places and move to place where it rains and it’s just cold most of the year. Well, here is my answer to that question and the beginning of my story… So back home, I was in school and working like most people my age nothing out of the ordinary. Until one day everything changed, I was in my room getting to go to work, when my mom comes in and ask would you like to work in London, with your uncle in a security company they are looking for new people. So I told my mom I will have a think about it and get back to you. *(I know, I know you are thinking what the hell I would say yes in heartbeat, now easier then done considering everything I had a good life back at home, good friends, good family, new car and decent job like all is right with the world.) So later on that day my mom pops up at my work she pulls me onto the side, so have you thought about it to to move to London then she begins with the reasons why to leave ( better pay, better life and etc). So right then and there I told I will do it why not. Now at the moment I couldn’t tell anyone, what was going I wanted to build momentum. But as we all know that didn’t last long till I started telling. I mean I am sure I am not the only one who would. At the moment I thought thinking everything is about change. Ohh it did in ways that one can’t imagine for what was to come the next few weeks and days and months (* but I will fast forward events so don’t worry)

So I guess, this was odd event that would change everything believe it or not (* all will be explained). So after work, like most nights right across from were I work there is bar right across that me and my work mates like to go to after work and have a few drinks after the shift. So as I coming across there is man and this girlfriend that happen to own a German Shepard *( I had one growing up, she died of lung cancer) so I go up the owners and tell them there dog is beautiful and I used to have one. They go thank you and comes and join use for a drink. Sure why not, so we start talking and I tell them that I am moving to London, and etc and I told him that I won’t know anyone there which worries me a bit(*FYI: I am just fast forwarding this convo between them because this took months till I got to this point to tell them about London and the alone factor.) Honestly, it did worry me a bit. I mean wouldn’t you?

So the guy goes I will introduce you to someone, so that way you know someone over there and she can show you around. (* little did I know i was going to need to save her life a few times here in London) So, he gives me her number and she gets mine and we start talking via whatsapp so we start to know each other a bit. So I thought at the moment alright well at least I will know someone there, who can show me he city and how the city works it. So that part settled now.

Remember like I said I am just fast wording events, so hang in there now comes a bit of a not so happy part to the beginning. So it has come to the point where in a few weeks I am going to London, but first I need to break the news to my dad (FYI: I don’t speak to my dad anymore, he is done with my life. He is straight up asshole and other words I would like add but I won’t any further question about my dad please feel free to ask me. I don’t mind at all). So I thought I will get everyone on my dad side together to break the news, so once everyone got there and such I broke the news and told them my plan. You can imagine most people were supportive of the idea, and what’s I was about to do. While the one person who I needed the support didn’t give me the support, he ended up just making me feel like shit ” you will be back in Miami in 6 months, you won’t make it out there and blah blah” at that moment I just wanted to leave, I remember on the drive home I was crying. Like I was just in disbelief of what just happen, like my own father didn’t have faith in his own son and just making me feel like shit. Even right now it’s hard to write about what happen that night. But from that night on everything changed…

travel
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.