Humans logo

That Someone Else

It can happen to me too.

By Robyn WelbornePublished 6 years ago 8 min read
Like

“… but I have no ride home, Jasmine.”

As I laid there in my bed, I was trying to convince myself to drift back off into my afternoon nap. I put Buddy on hold while I checked my phone; April 2014, 12:04 PM. "Well, there goes my nap," I thought to myself.

I took Buddy off hold and replied back, “Gas doesn’t flow in rivers. It costs money.”

That first step outside was the first step into a situation that would completely alter my life-outlook forever.

-----------

That Someone Else

-----------

I hopped in the driver’s seat of my 2007 gold Ford Escape and started up the engine. Halfway to Mark Rivers Mall Circle, I called Buddy again to tell him I was almost there. 'What did I just get myself into?' I thought as I went inside and began searching. These two boys were waving at me from the bench. Buddy Thompson was wearing his usual Nike track jacket, which made him easy to spot out. I gave him a hug.

“Hi,” I said to the other boy standing next to him. I studied the boy next to him. My stomach turned in knots. He had huge ears, and wearing a plain black shirt with dark blue jeans that looked two sizes too big. I noticed his all-white low-top Nike Air Force One's that were surprisingly spotless; however, he wore a ski mask rolled up into a hat on top of his head. Something about him felt off, but I just shook it away and smiled at him.

"That's Jace," Buddy introduced before swiping the keys out of my hand.

**********

Driving down Route 108, Buddy was doing his usual swerving through traffic while I just sat comfortably in the passenger seat on my phone texting. Occasionally, I would give my driving input about the proper way on how to weave in-and-out of traffic the legal way. The two of them would have their random conversations about different house parties, but I just tuned them out with the wave of new incoming text notifications.

A few minutes later, we arrived at Buddy's house. "Hit me up tomorrow," he yelled to Jace before tossing me my keys and going inside the house.

"Where are you going?" I asked Jace as I started up the truck again while he climbed over the middle console into the passenger's seat. He leaned the chair back and laughed before finally telling me to take him to the new Marriott hotel near the Chipotle and Dash-in gas station. "These Chertown boys … I don't have time to entertain their foolishness," I thought the whole way. When we arrived, he tried to persuade me to stay and chill, but I had to go home. Before leaving, he asked for my phone number. I told him to get it from Buddy.

**********

A couple of days passed, and Jace and I began talking. He had surprised me by actually going to get my number. Slowly, less and less I spent time at home and more hanging out with him. That is how he got me … that "Charming-Jerk." I have become so used to Jace driving me, that I did not care if he was unlicensed anymore. I blatantly ignored my common sense and suspicions about him. "Living La Viva Loca, right?" ... That is completely how I felt every time I was around him.

Almost every night I would doze off and dream about Jace. My phone rang; I answered it. "Stay away from Jace. He's bad news. Don't get caught up in his shady business."

"Who is this?" I ask.

"... I'm saying this to protect you."

"Buddy?"

"... Just trust me on this, Jasmine…" Buddy kept going on, but I eventually tuned him out. I said thanks and made an empty promise before hanging up.

***

It was the beginning of September now, and school began again. Life was busy now, but not even that was not enough to stop the fun between me and Jace. From Chertown, to West Harpford, and even back to Mark Rivers Mall Circle, Jace and I bounced all around the state while smoking enough marijuana to get higher than heaven itself. Nearing our journey, I dropped him off and went home. Checking in with my mom, I quickly changed my clothes and headed back out so fast that she did not have time to see me leave. I had no intentions of coming back home that night either.

I go back to meet Jace and we sit and talk in this hollowed out area underneath the first-floor stairwell. I have no clue what time of night it was, but I grew incredibly tired. Jace handed me two different room key-cards and offered me his sister's room until she returned from work. I took them and wandered off down the hall. I find the room and decide to have me a quick nap. BAM! ... BAM! ... BAM! I was fast asleep. BAM! ... BAM! ... BAM! It happened again. I finally wake up the second time—dazed and confused—wondering why Jace was knocking when he had a spare key. I opened the door preparing to yell at him for disturbing my sleep when I was staring into the chest of the tallest Sheriff I have ever seen!

"Are you Miss Jasmine Hilcox?" the Officer asked me. I was panicking that my mom called the police on me. I checked my phone—3:04 AM! "Ahem," the officer cleared his throat, and also to get my attention. "Do you know, by any chance, where your car keys are at?” he continued.

"They should be inside my purse...” I started. A shocking, and unsettling afterthought came across my mind that made me change directions. I asked the officer a straightforward question. "Did someone take my car?"

"Now," he chuckled, "I'm getting to that." He would not let me beat him to the punch-line as he continued asking me numerous of questions about myself, Jace, and my car. The officer told me to grab my things and come with him. He opened the door of his squad car and motioned for me to get in the backseat. I felt extremely uncomfortable and awkward as I squished between the seat and the barred partition. We arrived around the corner at the Betty Robinson's Home-style Cookin' restaurant where several other police cars were all gathered around. I spotted my car in the mix. The officer began to tell me the full story, and how Jace and some other random stranger ran into his police car in an attempt to drive away.

"I was sitting at the corner of Westin and Brookdale, when they..."

"--They?" I cut him off. I was confused and highly irritated.

The officer pointed over towards the sidewalk's curb where Jace and this other guy sat handcuffed. He then advised me that I go check my car thoroughly to see if anything was missing or broken. I told the officer that everything was fine when he pulled me aside one more time. He had one last thing to ask me about what I wanted to do about their punishments. I told the officer to punish them however he wanted. He handed me my keys and told me to be safe driving home. I thanked all of the officers and said my good nights. I paused for a moment before rolling down my window to ask the Officer one more question.

"How did you find me?"

He smiled, "There was a third guy asleep in the backseat. I was about to arrest him too when he told me that he knew the owner of this car and where to find them."

I stared at the officer even more puzzled than before. "Is the other guy still here?"

"No, he left." I thanked the Officer again and rolled up my window. While doing so, he also added, "He said that I would find the owner asleep in Room 202." I smiled at the officer as he waved to me goodbye.

I did my final reckless thing of the night; I did not go straight home. Instead, I pulled off into an empty parking lot nearby and stayed the remainder of the night pondering what had happened ...

I kept blaming myself. A lot of 'What If's' raced through my thoughts. I should have followed my instincts, or at least listened to Buddy. I thought I would never get caught up, but I did. I was so naive to think that my car getting stolen was never possible, but then I finally understood that it could happen to anyone. For so long I have believed that these types of situations only happen to someone else or on TV, but not me. Reality set in and made me see how I could have prevented all of this from ever happening by me just listening to people and trusting my gut. All the warning signs were there, but still, I refused to listen. I got caught up and paid the price for it...

... When morning came, I started up my car and headed home. My phone was ringing tremendously. All of them were from my mom. She must have been wondering where I was or she had already found out from the daily newspaper. Either way, it was nothing good. I took several deep breaths and prepared my speech. I had to tell my mom the story about how I became "That Someone Else."

literature
Like

About the Creator

Robyn Welborne

I am an aspiring creative writer who is currently working for my double Associate’s Degree in English. My writing has no limits and no filter. Anything and everything from all genres; if I think about it, then I will write it down. Enjoy!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.