Humans logo

That Day

Chapter 2

By Steph MathePublished 3 years ago 9 min read
Like

My eyes began to water with the uneasy feeling in my stomach. "What are you doing here?" I asked as I tried to prevent my voice from shaking. He walks in and shuts the door behind him and slowly makes his way over to my bed and takes a seat on the edge. I watch him carefully as he gently lays his hand upon my thigh; as my body begins to tense up with his touch, He starts to move it slowly, up and down as he let out a quiet sigh. "What are you doing?" I whispered, "Why are you touching me?" Tears began to roll down my cheeks. He lets out a small chuckle and began to clear his throat. "What are you talking about?" He asked me, nonchalantly. I roll my eyes as I get ready to push his hands off, "Uh, I wouldn't do that." He said as his grip got tighter. "I just wanna ask you a question." He laughed, "I mean, if you're okay with that, of course." He continued as he started to laugh a bit louder. "You're something el-", "Shut the hell up!!" I said before he was able to finish his sentence. "Hurry up and ask me your question and then get out!" I continued. The look on his face was illegible. We stared at each other for a good minute before he cleared his throat again. "I just wanted to know if you wanted to take part in the surprise party that I'm gonna be throwing for your mom." He said. "No, now get out," I said in complete anger. "You know, that disgusting attitude is not needed." He said as his holding of my leg began to turn into a pinch. "Ow, you're hurting me! Get off!!" I demanded as I tried to push his hand. Unfortunately, it only made the pain worst, because he began to tug on my skin. "GET OFF!!!!" I screamed, hoping that my mother would hear. He laughed and said, "Are you yelling so your mother can hear you?" He chuckled, "She doesn't care about you, Honey. Don't you know?" Suddenly the pain of his pinching went away due to his choice of words. I mean, I knew my mother hated me for some odd reason but, me thinking it sure as hell didn't hurt as much as me hearing it... from her Fiancé. "Get out... Now!" I whispered as my eyes began to ball out with anger. "It's only the truth." He said while getting up. "And the truth hurts." He continued as he opened the door. I got up and pushed him out of my room with extreme force and he began to laugh as he made his way down the stairs. "I HATE YOU. I HATE YOU BOTH!" I yelled as I slammed the door behind me. Before I can walk away from it, I heard footsteps coming up the stairs. "I just wanna go to sleep" I mumbled to myself, and jumped back into my bed, and listened to the distant voices of my mother and John. I couldn't pick up on what they were saying so I gave up and slowly fell into my slumber. A few hours later, I woke up to the sound of my mom and her fiancé laughing; it's almost like they wanted to wake me up by how loud they're laughing. I looked at the time and read three twenty-five. "Why the hell are they still up!" I say as I struggled out of bed. I open my door and walk into my mother's room. "WHAT THE HELL IS WRONG WITH YOU GUYS? IS IT NOT THREE SOMETHING IN THE MORNING RIGHT NOW? shit. Peace, that's all I need." I said with Complete anger as I walked back out of their room, slamming the door behind me. "Ugh, I hate them" I mumbled to myself as I made my way back to my room. I gently pushed the door closed and climbed back into my bed. Only to hear my door slam open with my mother standing in the doorway and john standing behind her with such an irritable smile. "I want you out of my house!" My mom said in such a calm tone, with an angry face. "What? Mom, you're crazy. Where am I gonna go?" I said, "I don't know. Should've thought about that way before you came walking into my room like you were some kind of boss." She exclaimed. "Mom, I was tired and you guys were laughing and talking so loud up to the point where I was woken up from my sleep. If it were you to be woken up from my laughter, you'd scream at me in a heartbeat." I screamed in anger. "Tomorrow morning, you better start packing your stuff, because you're out of here. For good." She said as she walked out, leaving the door wide open, behind her. "FINE!!" I yelled as I got up and slammed the door shut, not forgetting to lock it. So much anger and frustration began to grow over me. So, I slid down against the wall and started to cry. I couldn't understand why my life had to be so miserable. Soon, I sat and thought about who to call, and where to go, and the first person to pop into my head was Kristen, but I was a bit iffy about calling her. Her house is so close to my mother's house and once I leave, I never wanna see her again, or her stupid fiancé. So, I crossed her off the list. Suddenly, the urge to call my father was so strong that I picked the phone up and began to dial his number. I waited patiently for him to answer. "Hello?" He said. "Hey...Dad?" "Hey, honey. Everything okay?" He asked. I stayed quiet on the other end of the phone as my eyes began to water. "Hello?" He said. "Kailey? Sweetie, listen to me. If you want, we can talk about that night and I will answer every single one of those questions you might have." He continued. I began to cry. "That's not what I called you for," I said. "So, why'd you call me? What's going on?" He asked with concern flooding his voice. "Nothing. Just forget it." I said as I hung the phone up. I realized that talking or ever seeing my father is something I will never be able to do. I looked up at the clock and read four-thirty. I shook my head and reached under my bed for my suitcase, and from there, I began to pack. About thirty minutes later, I found all my drawers to be empty and all I needed to do was take a shower and leave. As I began to make my way over to my bathroom, my phone started to ring. I looked at it and saw that it was my father calling. I shook my head and walked into the bathroom. After twenty minutes of being in the shower, someone suddenly popped into my mind and it was my aunt. My mother's sister. When I was younger, I never really understood why my mother told me that I was never going to see her again, or my uncle and cousins. But now, I believe it's because my mother pushed her away just as she's doing to me. With that thought, I hopped out of the shower and continued to do whatever I had to do in the bathroom and got dressed. After I was finally settled and ready to go, I looked at the time and it was thirty minutes after five. I grabbed my phone and called my aunt. While waiting for her to answer the phone, I realized that she might be sleeping. After all, it is five thirty-three in the morning. "Hello?" She answered with a sleepy tone. "Aunt Chelle?" I said, waiting for her reaction. "Kailey? Is this you?" She asked with complete confusion mixed with a little excitement. "Yes, it's me," I said as I let out a little chuckle. "Oh my goodness, how are you, sweetie? What made you call me?" She asked. "Uh, not so good and mom is kicking me out," I said, trying to sound a little nonchalant. "Um, what?" She said, "what do you mean, kicking you out?" "I mean exactly what I said, she's kicking me out and I don't know where to go," I said in response. "This is ridiculous, mind telling me why?" She asked with concern. "Um, can I stay with you, please?" I asked while crossing my fingers for her to say yes. "Of course you can, let me know when you reach the airport out here in Tampa and I'll come to get you." She said. "Okay, I'll tell you everything when I see you-" before I can finish my sentence, my phone was slapped out of my hand by mother. "WHO THE HELL ARE YOU TALKING TO?" She yelled. "I'm talking to my father," I said. I couldn't tell her that I was talking to Aunt Chelle because then, she'll know where to find me. "Are you planning to move in with him?" She asked. "Yes. Why do you care?" I said in response. "Why do I care? Do you think your father loves you?" She said as she began to laugh. "Yes, he does," I said as I rolled my eyes. She began to laugh even harder with my response. "Oh yeah?" She said, "If he loved you, I'm sure he wouldn't have left you that night." She concluded as she continued to laugh. My eyes began to water. Maybe she was right, maybe he didn't love me. I mean, I sure didn't see him as much as I should've. I got up and grabbed my phone along with my bags and said "I'll find somewhere to go. I don't need any of you guys." And started to make my way out of the room. I looked at my phone only to see that Aunt Chelle was still on the other end of the phone. Before I can step foot out of the doorway, my mom grabbed me by my shoulder; turning me around to face her. "GET OFF OF ME!" I screamed. "You're not going anywhere," she said as she began to hit me anywhere she could find, whether it was my face, my stomach, anywhere and she just wouldn't stop. She had me on complete lockdown, I wasn't able to move and all I was able to do was take the beating. My scream and cry for help only brought my mother's fiancé in. All I was able to hear was his annoying laugh and the sounds of my mother's fist pounding against my body. Then suddenly, he started to walk towards me. The little hope that I had inside; of him helping me, left my body the minute his foot went right into my face with full force. Shortly after, Everything went blank and I wasn't able to see a thing. The last thing I was able to feel was someone checking to see if I had a pulse. "OH MY GOD, WHAT DID YOU DO?" A distant voice yelled, and that was the last thing I was able to hear.

fact or fiction
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.