Humans logo

Teni Opens Up About Losing Weight, Dieting, and the Sadness That Came With It

Teni talks food, dieting, and health

By Jide OkonjoPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like

Nigerian singer Teniola Apata popularly known as Teni is one of the more popular singers out of Nigeria and Africa as a whole today. Recently, the singer posted new pictures of herself online that got the internet buzzing because in the images, she seemed to have lost quite a bit of weight.

Now, during a new interview with Glitch Africa on their show, The Breakdown, Teni is opening up a little bit more about her weight loss, dieting, the sadness it brought, and why ultimately she's happy with what she had to do to get where she is now. Here's what Teni said.

**Before reading on, please make sure to like and follow my Facebook page (Jide Okonjo) so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. I have a really fun page. If you like my page, you will have fun too. So what's stopping you? Like my page and let's have fun together!

Teni Before

During the interview, Teni was asked "Ikechukwu put up a post saying "I am not alright". There are some other background information he put out there but he's basically just saying he's not doing okay. And this is something as entertainers I don't think we speak a lot on. The little maybe depressions that can happen, not seeing your dreams materialize, the stress behind it all and everything. Have you ever felt depressed or 'not alright'?" She responded:

I have never been depressed but I have definitely been sad a lot of times.

"What can make Teni said? You don't look like you've ever been sad?"

Well, I get sad sometimes. But one of the biggest things that caused my sadness was dieting. Ha! Because I do think of food every second. As funny as it is, it's not easy oh. People that love food will understand what I'm saying. Dieting, changing your lifestyle. Ask my people, me, when they buy food for me, they buy like 7 different things. It's just what I have taste for. I have taste for different things. When I see it, then I will now start eating. I can finish anything before.

"Well, to me you look good on your big girl thing and you look good now that you're toned down? How do you feel though?"

Good. I feel really good. Really really good. I feel good. And do you know? Imagine going to dinners and paying for everybody's food and you can't eat what they're eating. Because I'm dieting. I went to Yankee and in Yankee, that's where most of my guys are. So normally in Miami, we'll go out, we'll have fun. I was dieting, I couldn't eat none of that. It's sadness. But then you now grow and you now learn that this thing you're doing is actually good for you and so you start to change. You start to adopt better choices for yourself. You start to realize that I have this fame, I have this money, I need to be able to live long to enjoy it.

Teni now

Wow! What a sacrifice. Ultimately it is good that Teni is happy with the decision that she made for her own body. What do you think of what Teni said, and about her story? Let me know your thoughts by leaving a comment either below or on my Jide Okonjo Facebook post.

That's All.

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to follow my page (Jide Okonjo) if you don’t already for more stories like this, the fun never ends

To catch up on other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day.

celebrities
Like

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.