Humans logo

Technicolor Aching

A Twin Flame Painting

By Kathryn DorbeckPublished 2 years ago 8 min read
Like
The picture that brought me to tears

Very seldom, if ever that I can readily recall, has a piece of art actually moved me to tears, but this picture had that effect on me the first time I saw it. Being a twin on my twin flame journey has been a gut wrenching – while simultaneously beautiful, inspiring, and soul shaping – experience, and this picture seems to perfectly encapsulate all of those emotions and my experience.

Background on Twin Flames

For those of you who are new to the Twin Flame concept, I will briefly explain it and the difference between twins and soulmates. Soulmates are two people (or souls) who share a profound connection and comfortability with one other, likely having known each other in past lives as well. Prior to this incarnation they agreed to be a part of each other’s lives, teaching one another valuable lessons. In the twin flame scenario, it is one soul that was split into two, the divine masculine and divine feminine, prior to incarnation with the mission being to reunite and use that twin flame energy to help raise the vibration of others, driving more people to ascension.

While it sounds inspiring and fabulous, the twin flame journey is often incredibly difficult. At the core, the journey is about growth, healing, and enlightenment. Your twin is a mirror of yourself and therefore challenges you to see your own weaknesses. Twins are typically the ones who help you to grow the most, sometimes painfully, as you move through life’s lessons. Often, one or both partners are already in another relationship, sometimes even with a soulmate. While though those relationships may be fraught with conflict and uneasiness, change is always difficult as you redirect yourself from a course you’ve grown accustomed to. With the mission of twins being enlightenment and raising the energy of the world around them, eventually when each twin is awakened the realization sets in that those other relationships simply do not fulfill that mission or sense of purpose. Despite the “comfortability” in those other relationships, awakening leads the twin to realize that those other relationships, no matter how comfortable, simply fall short of their life’s calling. Once awakened, there is a tremendous amount of pain associated with feeling like your other half is missing from you.

The Painting

*Because I am not the artist who created this work, I cannot say with certainty whether my impressions of certain elements are correct. These are my points of view but for the sake of cadence, I am not putting qualifying statements such as ‘it is my impression’ or ‘I feel that’ at the beginning of each of my statements.*

When I first saw this picture, I instantly saw myself and began to feel a sadness creeping up inside me. The day that I came across this piece had been a particularly painful day without my twin and the emptiness and brokenness I was feeling was mirrored by the collapsed and defeated divine feminine in this picture. I looked deeper, studying this picture and all of the details I could take in.

The background and the masculine are both in monotone, but the feminine is in full color, as are the paint palette and the nest filled with eggs. It’s as if the divine feminine has exploded into technicolor, but feels alone in her monochrome landscape. Her color indicates her eyes have been opened and she has become enlightened, or awakened, to her purpose and her twin flame journey but she looks around and her twin, her protector, is not in color. Not yet anyway. He is still trapped in the monochrome landscape, the 3D reality that we are all born into. He has not yet awakened to (or perhaps accepted) his true purpose and the twin flame journey. Despite this, he still loves his divine feminine counterpart. He still cherishes and protects her as she lies there crying in his lap. His brow is furrowed in concern and he leans over her, trying to surround her with his love and energy. Trying to protect his love and bring her comfort when she needs it the most.

Both are naked, completely exposed and vulnerable to each other. There is no hiding from each other, as there is nothing else in this landscape to hide behind. Her arms crossed over her chest are not in shame, rather in pain as she clutches herself, and I sense in coldness from her as well. Despite the seemingly bright, and presumably warm, surroundings she shivers and craves warmth.

The nest by her feet hints at new life about to unfold, but she is so broken and exhausted that she cannot tend to it. She has been reduced to basic survival, as she lies there naked, curled into herself. On particularly rough days, I feel this in my bones. The sense of hardly being able to move through life, and knowing that the feeling will eventually pass, I too lie there curled up into myself waiting for the feeling to pass. Only on those days, I normally don’t have the comforting touch of my twin. In truth, his physical absence is typically what triggers those toughs spells. When I close my eyes I can always feel his love, but some days the need to feel him physically is overpowering. On those days, I have to wrap myself up in his blanket and force the power of my mind to conjure him up beside me. On those days, the eggs do not get much attention from me. In this picture, the eggs in full color are the seeds of enlightenment that she hopes will soon be growing with the help of her and her partner together. But for now, she does not have the energy to tend to them on her own, so she leaves them at her feet for later.

In contrast to her colored “seeds of new hope” she has at her feet, he has monotone bare branches coming out from behind him. We do not see whether they are coming from a tree that is directly behind him or if the branches are growing out of him. We do see, though, that the life that once sprung from (behind) him has now died and that at one point in time, that life was bigger than he himself. That life is now lost to time and the elements, as the bare branches seem thin and no longer have leaves or flowers growing from them. Whether that symbolizes the death of the monochrome life for him, or simply part of the normal seasons of life with blooming and shedding, we cannot say. Perhaps those branches will once again come into full black and white bloom, or maybe something new and colorful will emerge.

The paint palette continues to elude me. Regardless of how long I stare at this picture or how many times I come back to it, my mind has not settled on which direction the painting is going. Did he paint her in color, symbolizing him causing her awakening? That was certainly the case with my twin. Or is she the painter, hoping to paint him into color so that he can join her fully on their journey? There are two paint brushes, so perhaps both are painting together. Perhaps they both were painting the eggs, planning for their future together.

As I have not been able to track down the artist to buy a high-definition copy of this picture, my eyes continue to be drawn to the left side of his chest, to the object there that I cannot quite make out. Perhaps it is non-descript even in high definition. Is it a necklace of some sort, or a wound on his chest? In addition, the landscape itself has some areas that are not clear enough in the resolution image that I have seen. The dark masses to the right of the picture, for example, could either be dark hills on the baren ground, or maybe the light-colored ground is actually clouds and the dark mass is a portion of storm cloud moving in. I do lean in the direction of the masses being mountains or hills lining the edges of an empty valley. As twins, their journey is not crowded. Twin flames are considered rare, as not all souls split prior to incarnation. In some circles, the number passed around is 144,000 twin flames on earth at the present time. Therefore, this image of the two of them on their own would be an accurate feeling of being on this journey by themselves. Their physical worlds may crowded with people, but on a spiritual plane they very well could be alone. The darkness of the clouds in the sky behind the divine feminine forebode an approaching storm or challenge. She seems to be exhausted and needing shelter from the approaching storm, and her divine counterpart is relaxed and tenderly providing it to her. Perhaps her enlightenment allows her to see more of the big picture and the ramifications of certain life choices. Is his relaxed demeanor due to ignorance of the implications of him not joining her in technicolor? Or is it a relaxed confidence that they can weather the storm together and that everything will work out as it is supposed to?

This piece leaves me with so many questions and so many more details each time I look at it. I would love the opportunity to speak to the artist in more detail about his/her work, but until then, I will let my mind continue to fill in the blanks and pull together the story of these twin flames on their journey together.

art
Like

About the Creator

Kathryn Dorbeck

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.