Humans logo

Suicidal Love

By: Jeremy Kuzmic

By Jeremy KuzmicPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
1

Blake and Kate were believed to be a happy couple.

No matter where they are, the pair always seem to have happy smiles on their faces. When they are alone, however, Kate's smile disappears. Blake tries his best to cheer her up and help her be happy, but nothing ever seems to work. When Blake asks Kate what is wrong, she usually responds with a curt, "Everything is fine." But not today. No, today was unlike any other.

"What's wrong my love?" Blake asks, seeing the pain on Kate's face more than usual.

"Everything. I just can't take it anymore. I can't take living with myself and I can't lie to you about it anymore." Kate confesses, tears brimming her eyes.

Confused, Blake's eyebrows draw together as he takes her hands. "Lie to me about what?"

Kate takes a breath. "Ever since I met you, my life has changed so much. I wanted to spend the rest of my life with you, I do...but recently I've just--" The tears in Kate's eyes are spilling onto her cheeks now, and she chokes back a sob as she continues. "Recently, things have been more difficult for me. I've wanted to kill myself. I'm not the same person I was when we first met. You aren't the same person I fell in love with two years ago. Nothing is the same anymore and I just can't handle living like this." She said, releasing his hand and standing up, arms wrapping around her body as if to try to shrink into herself.

"What do you mean?" Blake questioned, more confused now than ever. He had only ever been supportive and caring. What had he done wrong? "Are you saying what I think you are saying? Because if so, I am so sorry...for being different? I don't know what I could have done to bring this on." He said as his own tears began to fall.

Blake stood to hug her, but Kate was already walking out of the door to their shared apartment. He plopped back onto the couch, defeated.

For four hours, Blake remained seated in his spot as he stared at the door Kate had walked out of. Finally blinking out of his own thoughts, Blake made his way to his room and began shuffling through his drawers in search of a pen and a piece of paper. When he started writing, he was not sure what he wanted to say. Eventually, the words began to form more coherent thoughts, and once he was satisfied with what he had written, Blake folded the piece of paper and held it tight in his hand.

Another hour passed before Kate finally returned to the apartment, the night sky too dark and the wind too cold for her to continue walking in. As the door clicked open and she took off her boots, Kate could hear the water running from the bathtub. In the two years they had been together, Blake usually preferred a shower to a bath. Given the stress they had both been under tonight, she could understand him needing time to relax. Making her way towards the bathroom, Kate began thinking about all the things she needed to say that she just could not bring herself to say in the hours before. Before she had even reached the bathroom, she stopped in her tracks as a wet sensation attacked her sock-covered feet.

Kate immediately knew something was wrong. Swinging open the bathroom door, she fell to her knees and put her head in her hands, a loud half-sob, half-scream escaping her lips. Before her, Blake sat lifeless against the back of the tub, a knife on the ground next to the tub and his note sitting on the counter. On shaking legs, Kate stood up and grabbed the note, reading it with wide eyes. Taking a broken breath, Kate grabbed the knife and quickly sank it into her wrist, pulling it up her forearm as she let out another shriek.

The building manager arrived at the apartment later that night after the neighbors in the apartment below complained about water leaking from the ceiling. He knocked on the door and waited for someone to answer, but after 10 minutes of silence, he took out his set of keys and entered the apartment. Noticing the water in the hallway, now tinged red with blood, the building manager immediately called the police. As the police arrived on scene, the gruesome sight they were met with required very little time to understand what had happened. Carefully, officers and crime scene investigators began to work the scene. Bagging up the note, now soaking wet and stained pink, the officer read aloud:

"Without you, I am nothing. Without your love, I am no one. I love you. Please don't ever forget that. Life for me has been difficult lately too, watching you lose yourself. The feeling of losing you hurts me more than you could ever know. I won't live this life without you. Goodbye, Kate."

fact or fiction
1

About the Creator

Jeremy Kuzmic

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.